39th Class

Duke Med School Graduates 71

Seventy-one brand new physicians participated in Duke's graduation exercises June 1.

The nine women and sixty-two men of the Duke Medical School Class of 1970 came to Durham four years ago representing 17 states and two foreign countries. All have begun or will shortly begin internships in their particular specialities to complete requirements for certification by the National Board of Medical Examiners.

The actual graduation activities, a part of the University's commencement celebration, were preceded on Sunday, May 31, by a Hippocratic Oath ceremony and annual graduates' reception and luncheon at the Durham Hotel and Motel.

Dr. Thomas Kinney, director of medical education, presided at the Hippocratic Oath Ceremony and presented a talk to the graduates. Following recitation of the oath, a traditional pledge made by new physicians, John Andrew Horton gave the annual class address.

Ten of the graduates are from North Carolina and eight more come from the neighboring states of South Carolina and Virginia.

The new doctors include the following:

California—Guy Russell Lord of San Francisco and Patricia Lawlor Lord of Sacramento.

Connecticut—Donald Anthony Conetta of Stamford, Jan Victor Karlin of Waterbury, Anthony Marchand of Greenwich, Howard Francis Pease of New Milford, and Alan David Rogol of Seymour.

Florida—Thomas Edward Austin of Umatella, David Earnhardt Boaz of Gainesville, Floyd Richard Everhart, Jr., of West Palm Beach, Robert Gordon of Coral Gables, and Barnett William Lewis of Lakeland.

Maryland-Ronald Eugene Bost of Temple Hills, Norman Howard Needel of West Hyattsville, and William Kirkby Tucker of Chevy Chase.

If you know of an article you would like to see in *Intercom*, please call extension 4148 or drop a note to box 3354.

Massachusetts—Daniel Bernhardt Palko of Agawam, and Stephen Allan Sohn of Newton.

New Jersey—John Charles Angelillo of North Haledon, Paul Kenneth Ayars, Jr., of Bridgeton, Lowell Harley Gill of River Edge, Walter Richard Schmits, Jr., of Demarest, Clifford Joel Schostal of Livingston, and Harold Alvin Smith, Jr., of Marlton.

New Mexico-William M. O'Neill of Alburquerque.

New York—Dale Wells Caughey, Jr., of Binghamton, Henry Joseph Comiter of New York City, Peter Allen Engel of Rochester, John Andrew Horton of White Plains, Dexter Lee Jeffords of Roslyn, William Alvin Kutner of Dunkirk, and John Paul Wexler of Brooklyn.

North Carolina—Arthur Watts Clark, Jr., Thomas Roberts Kinney, Margaret Bates Walker Miller, Nancy White Stead, and Martha Eloise Valiant, all of Durham, James Caudell Ballenger and Carol Diana Silver, both of Raleigh, Elias Farid Ghanem and Edwin Lee Jones, III, both of Charlotte, and Merle Rudy Busby of Salisbury.

Ohio-Thomas Trevor Reiley and Charles Philip Reynolds, III, both of Cincinnati, and William Thomas Smith of Warren.

Pennsylvania—Thomas Edward Harrison of Line Lexington, Walter Luther Miller of Nazareth, Forrest Owen Smith of Monaca, and June Pfautz Van Bruggen of Tarentum.

South Carolina-Edward Barnwell Black of Greenville, and James Reginald Kelly of Columbia.

Tennessee—Carlos Clinton Campbell, III, Ewin Burrow Jenkins, and Gregory Allen Kelly, all of Knoxville, Michael Dortch Coleman of Memphis, William Lewis McGuffin, Jr., of Greenville, William Paul Silberberg of Chattanooga, and William Robert Somers of Oak Ridge.

Texas-Paul Hicholas Marusov of Houston, Joseph Paul Miller of Beaumont, and Susan Margaret Scales of New Braunfels.

Utah—Gilbert Maylon Maw of Salt Lake City.

Virginia—William Jerold Baggs of Reston, Paul Taber Forth, Jr., of Roanoke, Philip William Gold of Newport News, Linda Darlene Green of Falls Church, Harold David Head of Lexington, and James Alan Miller of Alexandria.

West Virginia—John Thomas Gwynne of Morgantown, and John Stephen Kiser of Charleston.

Israel-Harvey Joel Cohen. Turkey-Sezer Aksel.

Eighteen Students Win Honors

Eighteen outstanding members of the Class of 1970 of the Duke School of Medicine were honored at a luncheon following the Hippocratic Oath ceremony May 31.

Thirteen of the new physicians were named members of Alpha Omega Alpha, national medical honor society.

They included John Stephen Kizer, William Lewis McGuffin, Carol Diana Silver, Nancy White Stead, Michael Dortch Coleman, Linda Darlene Green, Thomas Edward Harrison, John Andrew Horton, James Reginald Kelly, Gregory Allen Kelly, Alan David Rogol, Susan Margaret Scales, and William Robert Somers.

Thomas Trevor Reiley was recognized as winner of the Davison Scholarship

while the Lange Medical Publications Award went to commencement speaker. John Andrew Horton.

Dr. Horton also received the Roche Award as president of the student government Davison Society and shared the C.V. Mosby Book Award with Barnett William Lewis.

The Thomas Jefferson Award for outstanding achievement in extra-curricular activities went to Linda Darlene Green and Carlos Clinton Campbell, III.

Miss Green also took honors as winner of the Upjohn Award for student research.

Edwin Lee Jones, III, and Floyd Richard Everhart, Jr., were joint winners of the Dermaguizz Award.