² 3 Men Chosen President-Elect

Three Duke doctors have been named president-elect of their respective professional medical societies.

Dr. Arena

Dr. Jay M. Arena, professor of pediatrics and professor of community health sciences, was recently named president-elect of the American Academy of Pediatrics. The 11,500-member academy is the pan-American association of physicians certified in the care of infants, children and adolescents.

He received his MD degree from Duke University School of Medicine in 1932 and returned to Duke in 1939.

Dr. Eisdorfer

Dr. Carl Eisdorfer, professor of psychiatry and professor and head of the division of medical psychology at Duke, has been named president-elect of the Gerontological Society, a national organization devoted to the scientific study of aging and the problems of the aged.

He was chosen at the society's annual meeting in Toronto, Canada. Dr. Eisdorfer holds a Ph.D. from New York University and an M.D. from Duke Medical School.

Dr. Parker

New president-elect of the Southern Psychiatric Association is Dr. Joseph B. Parker, professor of psychiatry. He received his psychiatric residency training at Duke from 1954 to 1959, and recently returned to Duke from the University of Kentucky College of Medicine where he served as professor and chairman of the department of psychiatry from 1959 to 1970.

INTERCOM is published weekly for Duke University Medical Center employes, faculty, staff, students, and friends by the Medical Center Office of Public Relations, Joe H. Sigler, director, and Vance B. Whitfield, assistant director.

MRS. SUE CHILDS PR Associate and Intercom Editor

MRS. KATHIE REISING PR Assistant MISS BARBARA RAY PR Secretary

Editorial Committee: Sam A. Agnello, director of the division of audiovisual education; James L. Bennett, Jr., administrative assistant to the vice-president for health affairs; Ellis Jones, employe relations assistant in the Medical Center Personnel Office; S. Douglas Smith, assistant director of the Hospital; and Miss Julia Taylor, R.N.



GETS CARDIOLOGY AWARD-Dr. Eugene A. Stead, Jr., Florence McAlister Professor of Medicine and former chairman of the department, received the 1970 Herrick Award of the American Heart Association at the group's annual meeting in November in Atlantic City. The award was given for "distinguished achievement in the advancement and practice of clinical cardiology." Shown presenting Dr. Stead with the award citation and medallion is Dr. Paul N. Yu, chairman of the association's Council on Clinical Cardiology. The award is named for Dr. James B. Herrick, the pioneer Chicago cardiologist who first defined coronary thrombosis. (photo courtesy of the American Heart Association)

AOA Selects 18

Thirteen fourth-year medical students and five from the third-year class have been elected to Alpha Omega Alpha, national medical honorary society.

Announcement of the selection was made by Dr. James F. Glenn, chief of urology and councillor of the Duke AOA chapter.

Fourth-year students named were Elaine Z. Belmaker of St. Louis, Mo.; Donald C. Brater of Oak Ridge, Tenn.; Walter Herbert Cobbs, III, of Cincinnati, Ohio; Joseph Michael Corless of North Bergen, N.J.; Holly Wilson Davis of Richmond, Va.; Charles Hybarger of Beltsville, Md.; Georgeanna S. Jones of Baltimore, Md.; Robert J. Margolis of Pompton Lakes, N.J.; John F. Modlin of Columbia, Mo.; Salvatore Pizzo of Philadelphia, Pa.; Peter Scardino of Savannah, Ga.; John D. Shelburne of Raleigh, N.C.; and Bernard S. Thomas of Silver Springs, Md.

Third-year students selected included Pamela Bowes Davis of Huntington, N.Y.; Dale Kessler of Durham, Edward McMahon, Jr., of Fair Haven, N.J.; Donald M. Pehlke of Pacific Palisades, Calif.; and Gerald Arthur Serwer of Oklahoma City, Okla.

G. T. Forton New Dietetics Director

Developing a better dietary department to serve both patients and employes is one of the goals of the hospital's director of dietary services, Gerald T. Forton.



One of the first improvements he hopes to initiate is an express line or "scatter arrangement" for the cafeteria. People wanting just an individual item would no longer have to go through the whole food line, but would select what they wanted and go directly to the cashier.

"We will also be implementing some new methods and systems to improve patient food service, such as consolidating the remote tray make-up areas from which food is served," he said. "This will allow us to get hotter food to patients."

Mr. Forton, a native of Tranverse City, Mich., graduated with honors from the College of Business and Public Service at Michigan State University (B.A. 1960). He majored in restaurant, hotel and institutional management.

He and his wife, Katherine, also from Michigan, are the parents of two children, Jeffrey, 6, and Tiffany, 15 months.

Prior to accepting his new appointment, Mr. Forton was the district manager for ARA-Hospital Food Management, midwest region. He was responsible for the operation and management of food services of seven hospitals in Nebraska, Kansas and Iowa.

Other professional experience includes serving as food service director at both Creighton Memorial St. Joseph Hospital in Omaha, Neb., and St. Anthony Hospital in Rockford, III., He also was general manager for the Northwestern Red Carpet Inn in Manistee, Mich., and catering manager for the Kellogg Center at Michigan State University.

Gets Pickens Award

M. Scott Athans, a native of Richardson, Tex., has been awarded the second annual Marshall I. and Sarah W. Pickens Scholarship in the Graduate Program in Hospital Administration.

The scholarship was established last year by Mrs. Mary Pickens of Charlotte who presented Duke with a \$55,000 scholarship endowment in honor of her brother-in-law and his wife.

Mr. Athans is a 1968 graduate of Baylor University with a degree in business administration.