# News

Going to Texas

Dr. Ralph J. Gorten, assistant professor of radiology and medicine, has been named director of the division of nuclear medicine at the University of Texas School of Medicine in Galveston.

Before he assumes his new post July 5, Dr. Gorten will give an instructional session on "Blood Volume Measurements" at the annual scientific meeting of the Society of Nuclear Medicine June 28-July 2 in Los Angeles.



# **Participants**

Guest speakers at the 22nd annual meeting of the North Carolina Heart Association were Dr. James A. McFarland, assistant professor of community health sciences, Dr. Delford L. Stickel, associate professor of surgery, and Dr. W. Glenn Young, professor of surgery. On the planning committee of the meeting held May 26-27 in Winston-Salem were Dr. James J. Morris, Jr., associate professor of cardiology, and Dr. Herbert O. Sieker, professor of medicine.

### Elected

Joe Corless, an M.D.-Ph.D. student, was elected president of the Duke chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha, medical student honorary.

## At Meeting

Pamela Hirst, RN on Reed Ward, Cynthia Schmidt, RN on McDowell Ward, and Nancy Burris, supervisor in the Recovery Room-Acute Care and Neurosurgoial Unit, attended a meeting of the American Association of Neurosurgeons-Neurosurgical Nursing held recently in Houston.

### At Institute

Richard Casper, pharmacist, recently attended the American Society of Hospital Pharmacists-Abbott Institute on Parenteral Hyperalimentation in Houston.

INTERCOM is published weekly for Duke University Medical Center employes, faculty, staff, students, and friends by the Medical Center Public Relations Office, Joe H. Sigler, director, and Vance B. Whitfield, assistant director.

> MRS. SUE CHILDS PR Associate and Intercom Editor

> > MRS. CHERYL JARVIS PR Assistant

Editorial Committee: Sam A. Agnello, director of the division of audiovisual education; James L. Bennett, Jr., executive assistant to the vice-president for health affairs; Kenneth M. Holt, assistant director of Duke Hospital; and Miss Julia Taylor, RN, head nurse on Strudwick Ward.

# Professional Medical School's 40th Graduation

Eighty new physicians received their M.D. degrees from the Duke School of Medicine at commencement ceremonies Monday

This was the 40th class graduated by the School of Medicine since it was founded in 1930.

The graduates, representing 19 states and the Canal Zone, participated in the traditional Hippocratic Oath ceremony at the Duke Chapel Sunday and then were honored at a luncheon at the Durham Hotel.

Twenty-one of the students were recognized at the luncheon for outstanding achievement during their medical careers. Dr. Evan D. Slater, the student speaker for the graduation activities, was named winner of the Roche Award. Dr. Slater is a native of Riverside, Conn.

The Lange Medical Publications Awards went to Dr. Lyndon D. Waugh of Huntington, W. Va., and Dr. Douglas S. Lloyd of Suffield, Conn. Dr. Waugh is president of Alpha Omega Alpha, Duke's medical honor society, and Dr. Lloyd served as president of the Davison Society, the medical student government association.

Dr. Roberta Kay Beach of Winston-Salem and Dr. John A. Walker of Brooklyn, N. Y., jointly received the Thomas Jefferson Award for outstanding contributions in extracurricular activities.

The C. V. Mosby Book Award was presented to senior class president Dr. John C. Rawl of Lexington, S. C., and to class representatives Dr. Walter C. Maack of Woodstown, N. J., Dr. Garrett F. Saikley of Arlington, Va., and Dr. Peter Scardino of Savannah, Ga.

Receiving the award presented by the American Society of Clinical Pathologists was Dr. John F. Modlin of Denver, Colo. The ASCP prize consists of a commemorative medal from Bausch and Lomb, Inc., and the Sheard-Sanford cash

Recipient of the Upjohn Award in Community Medicine was Dr. Joseph B. McCormick of Georgetown, Ind., and the Dermaquizz Award went to Dr. Robert Gilmore of East Liverpool, Ohio.

Elected to membership in Alpha Omega Alpha, the highest academic honor a medical student can receive, included, in addition to Drs. Modlin, Scardino, Slater, and Waugh, Drs. Gregory S. Liptak of Stratford, Conn., Elaine Z. Belmaker of St. Louis, Mo., Donald C. Brater of Oak Ridge, Tenn.,

Walter H. Cobbs, III, of Cincinnati, Ohio. Holly W. Davis of Richmond, Va., Charles P. Hybarger of Beltsville, Md., Georgeanna S. Jones of Baltimore, Md., Robert J. Margolis of Pompton Lakes, N. J., and Bernard S. Thomas, Jr., of Silver Spring, Md.

The graduates, in addition to the award winners, include the following:

California-William Andrew Cies of San Marino, Lee Joslyn Robertson of Santa Barbara, and William Orr Wagner of Upland.

Connecticut-Philip Anthony Hourigan, Jr of Milford.

Florida-Robert Henry Belmaker of North Miami Beach, David Kennedy Buckley of Ft. Lauderdale, Robery Whitney Curry, Jr., of Orlando, and Jon Robert Fichtelman of Lake

Georgia-Joseph Suttles Buffington of Lithonia, Frederica Lucile Emrich Smith of Atlanta, and James Miller Wilson, III, of Gainesville.

Illinois-Jean Marie Neskodny of Oak Brook and John Milton Peterson of Moline.

Maryland-Frederick Richard Behringer, Jr., and Linda Eck Norton, both of Baltimore. Massachusetts-Eric David Alpert of New Bedford.

Minnesota-Van Warren Johnson of St. James.

New Jersey-Michael Baten of Paterson, Stephen Charles Beuttel of Pleasantville, Arnold Jay Felsenfeld of North Arlington, Michael David Kaufman of Mahweh, Paul Cecil Mohl of South Orange, and Charles William Ross of North Berger.

New York-Gerald Michael Abraham, Patricia Audrey Boleman, Robert Stephen Perlstein, and Stephen Jay Victor, all of New York City; Kenneth Clyde Fischer, Alan Jay Horowitz, and Joel Rapchik, all of Brooklyn; John Russell Hoverman of Seaford, Leslie Franklin Major of Binghamtom, Michael L. Nash of Far Rockaway, Richard Leslie Rutherford of Endwell, and William Robert Welch of Newark.

North Carolina-Kenneth Alan Krackow of Durham, David Moffatt McConnell, Jr., of Chapel Hill, John O'Brien McGuire and Jonathan Melvin Ward, both of Charlotte, and Susan Robertson Prince of Knightdale.

Ohio-Kurt Warren Sontag of Yellow Springs.

Pennsylvania-Byron P. Croker, Jr., and Phillip Irving Lynch, Jr., both of Pittsburgh and Eric Webster Petersen of Emporium.

South Carolina-Steven Stanley Juk, Jr., of Georgetown, and James McKnight Timmons, Jr., of Columbia.

Tennessee-Michael Ralph Colpitts of Maryville, Edwin Baggett Cox of Nashville, McDonald Kelso Horne, III, of Memphis, and Eugene Walter Wood of Millington.

Texas-Philip Guthrie Hoffman, Jr., of

Virginia-Timothy Michael Boehm of Alexandria, Constantine Athan Haliasos of Danville, Helen Joan Podgainy of Norfolk, James Randolph Poindexter of Mt. Crawford, and Leo Lauhon Walker, Jr., of Springfield.

Washington-Robert Paul Barnes of Edmonds.

(continued on page three)