....

edeanismeethingaalli

Honor societies welcome new members

As a means of recognizing the achievements of students, Elon offers a variety of honor organizations. Several of the groups held inductions this spring, filling their ranks with new members.

Alpha Chi recognizes outstanding scholarship in To be offered students. membership, students must possess at least a 3.65 grade point average (GPA), be of junior or senior status and have earned at least 30 semester hours at Elon. All transfer students must have at least a 3.0 GPA from their previous institutution.

This spring, the organization welcomed 31 new members. They were inducted on Tuesday, April 10 in Yeager Recital Hall.

Among the students inducted were Dona Albright, Andrea Aleksic, Richard Burke, Dawn Darnall, Donald Dilzer, Jody DuBois, Elizabeth Grubbs, Mark Haapala, Tracie Hickman, Timothy Hill, Atsuko Hiraoka, Robert Hughes, Jennifer Jennings, Erik Johnson, Richard Lashley, Emily Lippard, Julie Lynch, Amy Mabry, Elisa McConochie, Donna Miles, Ari Miller, Julia Morris, Jenniser Muskus, Sara Oakes, Suzette Perry, Lillian Pollock, Mark Sample, Annette Saunders, Jennifer Shrewsbury, Anne Sorrell and Sherry Strayhorn.

Alpha Chi has been in existence at Elon since 1968. The current advisor is Dr. Nancy Midgette.

Alpha Epsilon Rho recognizes achievement in the field of communications. In order to be invited to join the Organization, an individual must have completed at least six semester hours of communications courses and have a minimum 3.0 GPA in those courses and a minimum 2.0 GPA overall.

Nine new members were inducted at a ceremony on Monday, April 16 in the TV Studio. Among the initiates were Craig Antonucci, Mary Beth Bentley, Christopher Bower, Marlena Dare, Wilma Dixon, Pat Hobin, Patti Jefferies, Cheryl Kern and Ken Perry.

advised by Professor Ray-leadership in education and Johnson. The group plans to possess worthy education ideals.

videotape graduation ceremonies this May.

Alpha Psi Omega is an honor organization that recognizes achievement in the field of theatre arts. To attain membership, an individual must earn at least 50 points in at least two areas, including acting, technical and theatre administration. Points are determined by the faculty advisor.

Fight members were inducted into the organization on Sunday, February 25 in the Fine Arts Theatre. Initiates included v. Dale Enderlein, Stephanie Hulin, Lindee LeNoir, Trevor Oxenham, Candace Rotolo, Annette Saunders and Jennifer Shrewsbury. Faculty member Jon Drtina was granted honorary membership.

This was the first class of inductees to Alpha Psi Omega. The organization, advised by Fred Rubeck, plans to participate in the Special Olympics and will be hosting a "Guess the Number of Popcorn Kernels Inside Lydia the Rubber Chicken" raffle later in the semester.

Beta Beta Beta recognizes achievement in the field of biological sciences. In order to be offered membership in this organization, a student must have a minimum 3.0 GPA overall, a minimum 3.0 GPA in biology clases and completion of at least three biology classes.

On April 26, the group will be welcoming its new members. The organization has been in existence at Elon since 1978 and is advised by Dr. Herbert House and Dr. David Sissom.

Beta Beta Beta has planned an April 28 trip to the North Carolina zoo and is hosting a forum entitled "Shaping a New Environmental Agenda" on Saturday, April 21. Members of the honor society are attending a regional convention at Towson State University this weekend.

Kappa Delta Pi is another honor organization which is making its debut on campus this spring. The society recognizes achievement in the field of education. In order to attain membership, initiates must have a minimum GPA of 3.5, Alpha Epsilon Rho is demonstrate a potential for



Mike Vorndran / The Pendulus

This spring, several of the campus honor organizations inducted new members.

The organization held its first induction ceremony on Thursday, April 12 in the Fine Arts Center. At that time, 34 charter members were welcomed to the group.

Among the initiates were Katie Alley, Julie Blakeslee, Dr. Warren Board, Michael Brodowicz, Dr. Wesley Brogan, Linda Brophy, Christine Brown, Monique Caron, Leslie Creek, Linda Dry, Professor Helen Euliss, Edward L. Evans, Jr., Dr. Gerald Francis, Karen Griffin, Mark Harris, Dr. John Hemphill, Tamara Kenyon, Landa Canna Latta, Professor Betty Maness, Julia Morris, Lisa Olgers, Christine Powers, Professor Janice Richardson, Romy Rocklin, Laura Rountree, Linda Rudd, Dr. Larry Simon, Vannessa Surles, Dr. Scott Thomson, Catherine Whisman, Kimberly Williams and Dr. Ann

Professor Betty Maness is serving as counselor to the group, which plans to hold a meeting on Tuesday, April 24.

Kappa Mu Epsilon is yet another new honor organization at Elon this semester. It recognizes achievement in the field of mathematics. In order to be offered membership in this organization, an individual must

be in the top 35% of his or her completed at least three math Community Church. courses and completed at least

depending upon how many the group.

Dr. Rosalind Reichard and Dr. Jeffrey Clark are advising the group, which has planned a business meeting and officer elections before the semester comes to a close.

Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes leadership achievement by students, faculty and/or staff of Elon College. In order to be offered membership, an individual ust have completed at least half an academic year at Elon; ranked scholastically in the highest 35% of his or her class; and demonstrated distinction in at least one of the following phases of collegiate activity: athletics; social, service, religious and/or campus government; journalism, speech or mass media; or creative or performing arts.

The organization welcomed class academically, have a 3.0 27 new members at its induction GPA or higher in math, ceremony, held Wednesday, completed Calculus II or above, March 14 at the Flon College

Among the individuals inducted were Katie Alley, The group has scheduled its Richard Bell, Kelly Benfer, Cheri first induction ceremony for Brown, Christine Brown, Thursday, May 3 in the Yeager Kathleen Burger, Bradley Recital Hall. The number of Cokendolpher, David Cunha, initiates is still tentative, Denise Denkinger, James Dodson, Maureen Dougherty, students and faculty members Erica Faison, Deborah Glass, accept their invitations to join Mark Harris, Timothy Hill, Erik Johnson, Lara Lee Marshall, Bridget Murray, Edwin Neagle, Scott Oakes, Valerie Owen, Jana Lynn Fields Patterson, Suzette Peny, Ellen Reamy, Dr. David Sissom, Karen Slotke and Julie

Omicron Delta Kappa has existed at Elon since 1977. William Long is the group's faculty advisor and Dr. Linda Weavil serves as its faculty

ODK will be hosting the nual Awards Day on Friday, May 4, immediately following the faculty meeting, in Yeager Recital Hall.

Phi Alpha Theta recognizes achievement in the field of history. In order to attain

See Honor societies, Page 16