Four students honored by community college system

was represented Wednesday, April 16, when the N.C. Community College System in Raleigh. handed out honors.

Students Wendy Kaye Womble and Tabitha Ann Parkton were recognized for their ability to excel academically.

Demetrius Sykes, a 2007 graduate, was lauded for his leadership skills.

entertainment for the event.

Wendy and Tabitha were

system's annual Academic Excellence Awards Luncheon

They joined 116 other students, two from each of the 58 community colleges in North Carolina, in receiving certificates and medals.

To be selected for the honor. students must be currently enrolled, have completed at And Alison Rawleigh least 12 semester hours toward was selected to provide the a degree and have a grade point average of 3.25 or better.

In addition to academic ability selected by WCC for recognition and achievement, the college's

Wayne Community College at the community college selection committee also considered campus involvement and community service.

Wendy is a medical assisting

She is active in the college's chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society and the Medical Assisting Students Association, holding offices in both, and in her church

live in Goldsboro with their two children and have a third one on the way.

Tabitha, a Goldsboro resident, is working on an associate in applied science degree in Human Services Technology/ Substance Abuse after earning an associate in arts degree in Criminal Justice last year.

She served six years in the Air Force and has put in two in the Air Force Reserves.

In addition to her involvement She and husband Jeremiah in the Human Services Club and Phi Theta Kappa, she holds a part-time job.

Tabitha plans to continue her

education and earn bachelor's and master's degrees in social work.

Demetrius was presented the Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award. The award, sponsored by the N.C. Community College Presidents' Association, recognizes students who are active on their campuses and possess traits that will help them be community leaders.

He served in the U.S. Marine Corps Special Forces. While at See Students on 6

State award named for former teacher Conrad 'Bo' Wessell

for Conrad "Bo" Wessell of Goldsboro, who is also its first recipient.

The honor was presented by the North Carolina Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers (NCS-AAPT) at its Thirteenth Annual Spring Meeting this month at Davidson College.

It was given in recognition of Wessell's "long and fruitful career marked by service to the cause of physics education in general, and to the NCS-AAPT and the two-year college community in particular ..."

The award will be known as The Conrad "Bo" Wessell Two-Year College Award.

Wessell was employed by Wayne Community College as

A state award has been named an instructor of physics and mathematics for 36 years.

While there, he received the David Pierce Faculty Learner-Centered Quality Award from the National Initiative for Leadership and Institutional Effectiveness. In 1998, he was awarded both the Technical Instructor of the Year from the Student Government Association and WCC's George E. Wilson Excellence in Teaching Award.

Wessell is a graduate of Lenoir-Rhyne College and East Carolina University.

He is married to Miriam Wessell, who worked for 36 years in the Liberal Arts Division of Wayne Community College. They have one daughter, Kathryn, who lives in Chapel

SGA 2007-08



SGA officers and advisors, from left, Mallinese Lucus, Beatrice Birdine, Sierra King, Corey Harris, Alicia Watson, Tara Humphries and Jeffrey Barfield; back row, James Bynum



Penni Bland



Carl Brow Advisor



Danny Rollins

It was our pleasure to serve you!

Honors

Continued from 1

Debbie Jones placed fourth in Word Processing.

Seann Romero placed sixth in Sales Presentation and seventh in Management Analysis and Decision Making.

Leanna Greene received the NCPBL Foundation Scholarship.

As a chapter, WCC received: 2008 Terry Lowrance

Leadership Award

* First place for Largest Eastern Region Delegation

* First place for Largest Percentage Increase in Membership in the Eastern Region and

* Second place for Largest Local Chapter Membership in the Eastern Region.

Leanna Greene, Sherronda Darden, Betty Williams, Debbie Jones, Seann Romero, Phillip Parry, Jeremy May and Joseph Pender also received certificates for participation in the State Leadership Development Program.