

The Cougar Cry

THE VOICE OF WILKES COMMUNITY COLLEGE



VOLUME 10 - NO. 6

WILKESBORO, NORTH CAROLINA

MAY 21, 1981



Fourteenth Commencement May 26, 1981



Graduation

By: Len Broyhill

Attention Graduates:

Graduation is closely approaching — The graduation exercises will be Tuesday, May 26, 1981, at 5:00 P.M. in the college gym. Graduates are to meet at 3:45 in the gym for line-up instructions. Your line assignment number was sent to you through the mail on May 19. Be sure to bring your line-up number with you for the practice in marching in. Caps and gowns can be picked up in the bookstore any time after May 13.

Congratulations graduates on your upcoming graduation.

1981 Graduates

ASSOCIATE IN ARTS

Ricky George Absher Mike Abiodun Ajide Marsha Kirsten Alexander Julius Babafemi Alo Mike Abiodun Ayodele David Ray Bare Darrell Randolph Barlow Donna Lea Barnes Tammy Lynn Barnes Lois Ann Blackburn Arvil Dale Blevins Billy Ray Bowles Junnie Mae Brooks Gordon Labrandon Brown David Von Byrd Dianna Gail Byrd Teressa Rene Byrd Mark Andrew Canter James Randal Carter Jamie Henderson Cline George Michael Cogdill Mary Doris Cole Lois Lynn Daniels Nathan Herbert Daniels Jeffery Lee Davis Maria Giselle Dula Deborah Lou Eller Sydney-Anne Alexander Gambill Pamelia Dianne Gaylor Carmen Dee Goss Rexford Allen Goss Debra Elledge Greer Timothy John Helgeson Abasiofiok Mark Ibekwe Edith Rebecca Isenhour Fred Keith Johnson Nancy Helen Koester Boggs Timothy Harlan Lackey Ricky Joseph Lannoye Terry Sanford Lewis Kimberly Dean Linney Sylvia Kay Mathis Robert McHardy Mauldin III Barry Clark Melton Jeffrey Curtis Miller Rebecca R. Miller Penni Sue Minton Delia Janine Neaves

Marshals

Cynthia Elaine Beshears — Chief Harold Dean Bullis
Gregory Keith Burgess
Charles Reginald Colvard
Dennis Lee Gilreath
Anthony Harold McManus
Jimmy G. Rhyne
Linda Jane Shepherd
Terri Lynn Stone
Leesa Caroline Wood

The President, Faculty

and Graduating Class of

Wilkes Community College

announce their Commencement Exercises

at five P. M., Tuesday, May twenty-sixth

nineteen hundred eighty-one

Technical Arts Building



Wilkesboro, North Carolina

Linda Holbrook Osborne David Carroll Parker Leah Dawn Pearson Mitchell Lynn Phillips Kristi Rose Phipps Bonnie Leigh Phipps Linda Diane Poe Delane Taylor Quiver Tim Lee Ring Donald Terino Roberts Christopher Doyle Robinson Bobbie Lee Sebastian Tammy Leigh Settle Dottie Anderton Shealy Greg Scott Simpson Patsy Elizabeth South Daniel Shawn Sparks Deborah Lynn Staley Deborah Ann Steward (Continued on page 5)



STEVE DESAUTELS S.G.A. President

SGA President's Message

By: Steve Desautels

As your newly elected SGA president, I would like to thank each of you for your support and participation in the election. I sincerely hope that the interest that W.C.C. students have shown



LEN BROYHILL S.G.A. Vice-President

during the election will continue through the next academic year.

In addition to my presidential responsibilities, I have been elected the Chairperson of the North Carolina Comprehensive Community Student Government Association Legislative Liaison Committee. This position will require much of my time in traveling to and lobbying in Raleigh during the school year. Since I have this added responsibility, I will depend upon all of the SGA members and other students to help me achieve improvements for our institution. Some of the goals I have are: 1) to revise the W.C.C. constitution; 2) establish SGA office hours; and, 3) to solicit suggestions from the students that the SGA could consider for the betterment of the student body.

Again I would like to say thank you for your support, and I am looking forward to being your leader and servant for the next school year.

SGA Officers 1981-82

By: Janet Lael

As we turned out calendars from March to April, the students at Wilkes Community College began turning their thoughts toward the upcoming student government elections. Excitement began to mount when the petitions to be signed were released through Student Services beginning April 6th. Obtaining signatures for the petitions allowed the candidates to make new friends and to re-establish some old ones. The signed petitions were turned back into Student Services by 5:00 P.M. on Friday, April 10th. The campaigning was officially on.

When the students returned to Wilkes Community College on Monday, they were greeted by posters and slogans requesting support for certain candidates. Banners were set aloft from the tops of the buildings to draw the student's attention to a particular name of a candidate. Debating the issues was a major part of the

campaign, and the candidates got their chance to voice their opinions during a debate in Mr. Fortuna's Political Science class on April 13th. WSIF taped the debate and played the tape over the radio for those who could not attend the debate. After the debate was over, the already heated races became even hotter.

Speeches were given during club meetings by the candidates as the time drew closer and closer to the election days, April 22 & 23. The 1980-81 SGA was in charge of operating the elections, so times were set up for SGA members not involved in the election to work at the election booth. Excitement began to build as student after student filed past the election booth to obtain a ballot to vote on. The entire student body could vote for SGA officers, but only the freshmen could vote for the sophomore class officers. The first ballot contained the following names:

And The Winner Is....

SGA President - Keith Barlow, Steve Desautels, Harold Foster V-President - Len Broyhill, Bob Watts, Jeannie Williams

Secretary - Lana Chambers, Nancy Childress Treasurer - Johnny Spicer

Sophomore President - Janet Lael V-President - Mike Carlton, Paul Newton

Secretary - Tonya Woodie Treasurer - John Drum Senators - Carlton Absher, Jerry

Senators - Carlton Absher, Jerry Saner, Eugene Rash, Julius Parsons

Over three hundred people voted in the first general election. When Dr. Bob Thompson posted the election results on Friday, April 24, we learned that there was going to be a run off between Keith and Steve for SGA President and between Len and Bob for SGA Vice-President. Lana Chambers had won SGA Secretary and Mike Carlton had won sophomore class vice-presi-



JOHNNY SPICER S.G.A. Treasurer

dent. The other candidates either ran unopposed or, in the case of senators, had just enough candidates to fill the openings.

The following Monday and Tuesday were run-off election voting days. The races seemed too close to call. More speeches were made and more campaign posters went up. Mixed emotions filled each individual as Dr. Thompson again placed the newly elected officers name on the SGA bulletin board on Wednesday, April 29th. The results were as follows: Steve Desautels - SGA President and Len Broyhill - SGA Vice-President. The races had been very close all along, and each candidate had presented himself or herself with great dignity and respect.

The newly elected officers were inducted at approximately 1:00 P.M. on Tuesday, May 5th in the teaching auditorium in Thompson Hall. This ceremony preceded the concert given by Raymond



LANA CHAMBERS S.G.A. Secretary