Touch of
Thailand
See page four

THE TWIG

Newspaper of the Students of Meredith College

Sue Agnew
Interview
See page three

Raleigh, North Carolina

Vol. XLIII

MEREDITH COLLEGE, RALEIGH, N. C. OCTOBER 10, 1968

No. 2

Leadership, Service, Scholarship Among Selection Criteria

Fifteen Meredith Seniors Chosen for Who's Who



WHO are these Seniors? In counterclockwise order: Shera Jackson, Marilyn Childress, Suzanne Carpenter, Bootsie Thompson, Donna Hanson, Anita Burt, Brucie Starkey, Kate Huggins, Louise Watson, Susan Hout, Bet Garrett, Carol Price, Carrie Frampton, Alice Smith, and Kathy Holden (center).

Honor Society Chooses New Members and Leaders

Five new members have been elected to Kappa Nu Sigma, an organization which bases its membership on academic standing. Those elected were: Evelyn Carter, Marilyn Childress, Diane

Board of Trustees Elects Cameron To Chairmanship

C. C. Cameron of Charlotte has been elected chairman of Meredith College's board of trustees, succeeding Dr. L. N. Massey of Zebulon. Dr. Massey has served on the board for 20 years and as chairman for nine years. Mr. Cameron, who is chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the First Union National Bank, will begin his term January 1, 1969.

Mr. Cameron is also active in several business and civic organizations. He is chairman of the board of Cameron-Brown Company, Vice-President of the North Carolina School of Arts Foundation, and a member of the board of the Consolidated University of North Carolina.

E. L. Rankin, Jr. of Raleigh was elected vice chairman and W. J. Broadwell of Durham was elected secretary.

Mitchell, Carol Price, Linda Sears, and Marion Dalyrumple Wilson. Kathy Walston and Donna Soyars Buchan were also tapped as associate members from the junior class at last year's annual lecture of Kappa Nu Sigma. Officers for the 1968-1969 year, who were elected at the spring meeting were Marilyn Childress, president; Diane Mitchell, vice - president; Linda Sears, secretary; Marion Dalyrumple Wilson, treasurer; and Evelyn Carter, reporter.

Organized in 1923, Kappa Nu

Sigma Scholastic Honor Society takes its name from three Greek words, "Kallos," "Nous," and "Sophia," meaning beauty, sound-mindedness, and intelligence. The purpose of the society is to promote scholarship at Meredith. The organization restricts its membership to the top two per cent of the Senior Class. Full membership is limited to seniors who are elected at the end of their junior or senior year.

At the spring meeting, the Helen (Continued on page 5)

IBM Aids Raleigh Colleges With Presentation of Grant

The IBM Corporation has given \$10,000 to help further inter-institutional cooperation between Raleigh's six institutions of higher education. The money was presented October 1 by Arthur L. Becker, general manager for IBM in the Research Triangle Park to Dr. John Yarbrough, chairman of the biology department at Meredith College and Coordinator for Cooperating Raleigh Colleges.

This is the third grant of its type to be allocated to the cause of interinstitutional cooperation in Raleigh. The first, \$7,500 from the Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation, provided opportunity for Meredith

and NCSU to begin a program of class and library exchange privileges in the fall of 1967.

A 1968 grant of \$10,000 from the Southern Education Foundation provided for setting up the CRC office to plan and direct a program involving all the Raleigh schools. Dr. Yarbrough was named July 1 as first coordinator for CRC.

This week's grant from IBM is "a most exciting and favorable development," Dr. Yarbrough said. He feels the program can proceed beyond the development stage and a number of new ventures will be possible "earlier than we expected."

Dean L. A. Peacock has recently announced the selection of fifteen seniors who are to be included in Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges for 1968-69. The following students were chosen: Anita Burt, Suzanne Carpenter, Marilyn Childress, Carrie Frampton, Bet Garrett, Donna Hanson, Kathy Holden, Kate Huggins, Shera Jackson, Carol Price, Alice Smith, Brucie Starkey, Louise Watson.

The students were nominated by straw ballots from members of the Senior Class and voted on by members of the faculty. The faculty committee on student government was responsible for final tabulations and scoring.

The students selected display excellence and sincerity in scholar-ship, leadership and participation in extracurricular and academic activities, citizenship and service to the school, and promise of future success. The number of students chosen is based on a quota of the enrollment.

Anita Burt, a voice major from Durham, is presently the Sigma Al-

pha Iota chaplain, member of the vocal ensemble and the American Guild of Organists. Anita received the Sigma Alpha Iota Patronnesses's Award last year and was a freshman counselor.

President of the Student Government, Suzanne ("Snooze") Carpenter is a sociology major from Lynchburg, Va. In her three years at Meredith, Suzanne has been president of her freshman class, secretary of the Legislative Board, and

a freshman hall proctor.

Marilyn Childress, president of Kappa Nu Sigma and associate editor of the Twig, is a history major from Baltimore, Maryland. Marilyn received the Junior History Award, was a freshman counselor, and is currently serving as the Senior Class secretary.

One of the "Big Three" as president of the MRA, Carrie Frampton is an English major from Hartsville, South Carolina. Carrie has served as vice-president of the MRA and is a member of Silver Shield.

Declining candidate for May Queen and current chairman of the (Continued on page 6)

Freshmen Elect Gail Knieriem And Other Leaders of Class

Run-offs Tuesday, October 1 for freshman class officers have resulted in the election of Gail Knieriem as president of her class, Vickie Wimberly as vice president, Penny Gallins as secretary, and Carol Pearson as treasurer. When learning of her election as president, Gail Knieriem's first reaction was one of "surprise and pleasure," and she later commented, "I feel I was extremely lucky to be chosen to lead such a great group of girls."

Vice-president Vickie Wimberly of Richmond, Virginia hopes to help promote an enthusiastic freshman class spirit and to help all freshmen become involved, as does secretary Penny Gallins of Winston-Salem. Treasurer Carol Pearson of Reidsville summed her reaction in four words, "Big surprise, big responsibility"

Other freshman officers include Chris Davis and Mary Ann Osborne, Stunt co-chairmen; and Sandy Bubas and Linda Griffin, Corn Huskin' co-chairmen. Freshman representatives to student organizations are: Legislative Board, Jody House and Sibyl Sumner; Judicial Board, Beth Garrison and Beverly Totherow; Elections Board, Joy Munden and Nancy Crews; MCA, Claire Blackwell; and MRA, Margaret Person.

"The class of 1972 contains many individually talented girls," asserts President Gail Knieriem. "Our chief goal will be to unite these girls into one group so that each will fully benefit from the shared talents of her fellow classmates." This goal should not be difficult to achieve with such a group of capable, enthusiastic officers leading the freshman class.



Climbing the ladder to a successful freshman year are, left to right, class vice president, Vickie Wimberly; Carol Pearson, treasurer; Penny Gallins, secretary; and Gail Knieriem, president.