Meredith college Heberholder Heberholder

Vol. 2 No. 20

Meredith College, Raleigh, NC 27611

April 20, 1987

Awards convocation honors achievers of academic excellence

by Jo Hodges

Students and faculty members alike gathered amid excited whispers and giddy tension Monday, April 6, in Jones Auditorium. It was an hour of hugs and handshakes as students and faculty members assembled to honor Meredith students who had displayed outstanding academic excellence and achievement.

Dr. Sandra Thomas, vice president of student development, welcomed all to the ceremony and offered early congratulations to award winners. Reverend Sam Carothers opened the program with a warm invocation.

"Meredith takes pride in her students' achievemens," President John E. Weems said in his remarks. "The students we are honoring today show they have not been idle. They have used their heads and their hearts," he added. He thanked the students, parents, and faculty members for their achievements, support, and hard work that made Awards Day possible.

The following students were distinguished:

The Ida Poteat Scholarship, awarded by the Alumnae Association to the students who have shown a steadfast commitment to Meredith ideals and displayed outstanding scholarship, was presented to rising junior Mary Fracker and rising senior Elizabeth Almond.

In the department of English: The Perry Harris Scholarship was awarded to Jorja Croker. The Carolyn Peacock Poole Scholarship was awarded to Elizabeth Almond. The Norma Rose Scholarship was awarded to Sara Beth Fulford. The Elizabeth Avery Colton Award (for best piece in the Acorn) was awarded to Jo Hodges. The Marion Fiske Welch Scholarship (for dedication and excellence in creative writing) was awarded to Tracey G. Knight. The Ruth Ann Hubbell Award for Poetry and Creative Writing was awarded to Jennifer Hubbard.

In the department of Biology and Chemistry: The Martha Nell Tucker Freshman Biology Award was awarded to June Campbell. The John Yarborough Biology Award was given to rising junior Michelle Wilson and rising senior Jenny Beavers. The CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Award was presented to Pamela Pollock and Ann Whiteside.

In the department of Mathematics: The Vallie Tillotson Nelson Freshman Mathematics Award was awarded to Jenny Bradsher. The Distinguished Senior in Mathematics Award was given to Laura Litchfield.

In the department of Home Economics: The Outstanding Senior in Home Economics Award was presented to Emily Adcock and Beth Sanders. The Home Economics Service Award was given to Angela Cannon.

In the department of Business and Economics: The Outstanding Senior in Business and Economics Award was given to Becky Bizzel. Twelve students were inducted in the Hall of Fame in Business and Economics. They were Dawn Baittinger, Ann Barnes, Paula Billings, Janet Clayton, Sharon Clemmer, Jane Coleman, Nancy Floyd, Julie Harris, Becky Hickmon, Ruth Moore, Joan Proctor, and Martha Register. The Wall Street Journal Achievement Award was presented to Alice Milton. The Dr. Louis Frazier Award for college service was awarded to Donna Wilson. The ASPA Scholarship Award was given to Sara McMillian. The Ellen Manda Rumley Scholarship was given to Deborah Desantis.

In the department of Psychology: The Outstanding Senior in Psychology this year was Jeanne Yedlicka. The Psi Awards for Outstanding Contributions in Psychology were presented to Sarah Pace and Tommie Alsbrook.

In the department of History and Politics: The Sarah Lemmon Achievement Award was given to Joan Proctor. The Phi Theta Freshman Achievement Award was presented to Mary Joyner. The Phi Theta Scholarship (for the highest average) was awarded to Lisa Powers. Phi Theta Outstanding Member this year was Sophie Grady.

In the department of Foreign Language: The Outstanding Student of Spanish was Julia Powell. The Outstanding Student of French this year was Mary Fracker.

In the department of Art: The Best in the Show Purchase Award winner was Alexandra Hammond. Her work will be purchased by the department and become a piece in its permanent collection. The Outstanding Student in Art his year was Michelle DuSold.

Other awards included: The Outstanding Future Teacher Award was given to Rose Hennings. The Wings Academic Award was presented to Anne Burke. The Anne Dahle Re-Entry Award winner was Jorja Croker. The Ralph E. McLain Award for achievement in the religion and philosophy department was given to Karen Paul. The Theodore Presser Scholarship awarded by the Music and Performing Arts department was presented to Monica Borden. The Social Work Professional Development Award was given to Judy Bowman. The 1986-87 Rotary Scholar Recognition Award for excellent achievement by an international student was awarded to Miryam Krswijk. The Carlyle Campbell Award presented by the SGA was given this year to Elizabeth liames. The Academic Excellence Award this year was given to Rebecca Ann Hargett.

Seniors distinguished with acceptance into the Who's Who In American Colleges and Universities were Emily Adcock, Tommie Alsbrook, Becky Auman, kelli Barefoot, Ann Barnes, Susan Beck, Gladys Chow, Connie Compton, Libby Dew, Elizabeth Hedgepath, Nan Henry, Carolyn Hill, Jennifer Hubbard, Dawn Koonce, Paige Leist, Laura Litchfield, Mary Ellen McKown, Carlyssa Oakley, Lydia Perrin, Caroline Powell, Joan Proctor, Beth Sanders, Susan Suter, Lisa Talbott, Donna Wilson, Joan Wyatt, and Jeanne Yedlicka.

Gaddy-Hammrick hosts first art show

by Jo Hodges

The new Gaddy-Hammrick Art Center is presently hosting its first student art show this semester.

The modern gallery of the Center is filled with the creative genius of Meredith's art students.

Of the 600 entries, 280 were chosen for the show. The show was juried by the art faculty and every area of the Meredith art curriculum is represented.

"We, and I believe I'm speaking for the entire faculty when I say this, are extremely pleased by the superior quality of this year's pieces. I feel it is much stronger than previous shows in its individualism and energy. I think the abundance of energy is due partly to the centralization of the new building," said art department head Dr. Craig Greene.

"We hope the progress we see in this show is a symbol that this energy will continue to grow over the years and be a stepping stone to better arts and artists in the future." Michelle DuSold received this year's Outstanding Student in Art Award. The award is presented to the art major who characterizes the ideal art student in both artist achievement and individualism.

She should be a good student and serve as a role model for her fellow classmates. DuSold, a sophomore from Jefferson, N.C., hopes to become a professional photographer after she graduates from Meredith.

The "Best in the Show" was awarded to Alexandra Hammond, a freshman, for a charcoal drawing. Susan Plummer, a junior, won second place for an acrylic painting she entered. Third place awards were given to Michelle DuSold for a photograph, and Tammy Sturgeon, a junior, for her graphic design. Honorable Mentions were awarded to Cathy Mclaurin, Dian Wilson (3), Cindy Daniel, Kimberly Gordon, Jennifer Horton, Kathryn Slate, Laura Hill, Michelle Michael, Beth Ashton, Michelle DuSold (2), Ding Denlinger, and Sharon Pippin.

The show runs through graduation.

