MEREDITH MERALD

Vol 5 No.16

Meredith College, Raleigh, NC 27607

April 3, 1990

Kappa Nu Sigma Inducts Twenty

by Beth Lowry

On March 15, Kappa Nu Sigma inducted twenty new members to their society. Alumnae, current society members, parents and the inductees all joined in the President's Dining Room for a banquet. Judge Sarah E. Parker, a judge for the North Carolina Court of Appeals addressed the group. Judge Parker attended Meredith College, 1960-62 and graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

in 1964. She spent two years in Turkey with the Peace Corps and then received her law degree from the UNC-CH School of Law.

The purpose of Kappa Nu Sigma is to promote scholarship at Meredith. Membership is determined by quality point ratio. All inductees must have a 3.7 grade point average or better and outstnding academic achievement. President Amanda Brooks recognized Senior Holly Bivins for academic achievement. Bivins was awarded

the Helen Price Scholarship in the fall of 1988.

The new members are Sheila C. Butler, Lauren E. Cress, Natalie Crocker, Rhonwyn L. Curtis, Margaret A. Deal, Carmen L. Elliott, Kimberly C. Hines, Alyson A. Honeycutt, Kay R. Jernigan, Cindy E. Justis, Amy M. Keistler, Penny E. Lewis, Victoria P. Logan, Kelly E. Morris, Lori S. Perry, Lyn P. Riddle, Michele R. Roberts, Flora K. Singletary, Maria L. Williams and Renee O. Winter.

Spring Elections Results

Below are the results of the campus elections held on March 27 and the runoff held on March 29.

> Student Government Association President - Nan Smith SGA Vice-President - Avery Augustine Honor Council Chair - Molly Howell SGA Treasurer - Ann Hiott Elections Board Chair - Bonnie Bugnar Non-Resident Board Chair - Kimberly Howerton Residence Hall Board Chair - Laura Peedin Student Life Chair - Amy Keistler Meredith Christian Association President - Traci Baldwin MCA Vice-President - Amy Lee Chief Student Advisor - Holly Hensley Meredith Entertainment Association President - Donna Newton MEA Vice-President - Julia Dixon Meredith Recreation Association President - Cheryl Mason MRA Vice-President - Kitty Pate Chief College Marshal - Raven Joyner Residence Hall Presidents -April Dawkins (Vann) Jacqui Dato (Heilman)

Spring Dance Reminders

by the Student Government Association

The Student Government Association looks forward to two successful dances on April 7th. The Winter Dance this year caused considerable damage to Howard Johnson's as well as Meredith's reputation. Meredith College is at present limited as to the places the dances may be held. If the same destruction of property and abusive behavior, during the dance and after, all future Meredith dances will be held in the gymnasium. Please keep the following rules in mind when attending the dance: 1-alcohol is not allowed in the dance at anytime; 2- respect chaperones --- any abusive behavior towards chaperones will be tried before Honor Council; 3act responsibily Please remember that you are responsible for your date and his actions. Please inform your date of Meredith College rules. Any alcohol in the hotel is to remain in the rooms. Remember - don't drink and drive.