Campus Editorial November 11,1992 page two At this time last year, every one on campus was licking their wounds, trying to recover from a particularly vicious Comhuskin’. I’m glad to say that this year was not the same. The Traditions co chairs, Amy Willard and Ellen Powers, and the class co-chairs, Mandy Dill (senior class). Heather Thomasson and Sharon Thornes (junior class), Leah Ritchie and Jennifer Borowicz (sophomore class), and Starlotte Smith and Georgette McGill (fresh man class) spent a great deal of time as peacemakers within their own classes and among the four classes, and their ef forts were not in vain. This year Comhuskin’ be gan the week it was supposed to begin, not the way it did last year with little groups from each class antagonizing other classes three weeks before the event. The fact that everyone was able to contain their excitement for the festivities until the proper time cut down on all the gossip that plagues Com huskin’ . I can say I did not hear a single person say, “Well, I heard the Seniors tore down all the Jun iors’ signs...’’ or “Did you know that the Freshmen had their big sisters do all the work for them?” I’m sure statements like these were made, but thankfully the annual Comhuskin’ rumors were mere ghosts of what they used to be. I will have to admit some the attempts at being positive were a bit strained. At MRA Enter tainment (Nov. 2), I noticed some ironic grins from both juniors and se niors as each class sang‘WeLove You, .” To be honest, and I think a lot of Juniors and seniors wjill agree, some of the positive efforts were a tad insincere to begin with, but reached near-sincerity by the end of the week. see EDITORIAL page seven Meredith Herald Editor in Chief Amity Brown {..aynut Editor .Tracey Ruwts BoslnessManager.,, Kun Haslam Ci^yMitor Susan Finley NewsEditor BcthI.owry Features Editor.Sotiali Kolhatkar Sports Editor.,.., Amy Whitt I..ayout Assistant, Advisor NanMUler EdMoriniroUcy Rr^porters.„«.,JPiiU)Ces Pate^' Trista Schagat, Julie Smith, Kate Stewart, Sam Maultsby, Christina PeoKrfC!i,, Sarah Muss, Traci Latta, Kimberly Zucker, Jackie Webb Contributing Wrltera..,,, Crystal Howard, ItolUe Coward, Dr, Betty Webb. Lori Watson Technical Adrlstor Lama Davenport -Itw Att ktten 10 the «dit« mint be (tgiMd, TfM ophumts cKpeessed la edimrki columrw d» pot necessarily reflect those of the coH^e wtofiaistnuion. facul^, or student twdy. Lettcra to the Editor Pottey Bveryoee in the Muedith oomanmitjr is umied to write a iettar to the editor. AU (Hibiished letters must be typewntteo with contact nni»e and nddmss and t^ephone number. All letters must be itgoed by the author, but names will be wrthbeld upcn request Letters to the Editor' Yes, you guessed it. Another letter addressed to the cafeteria staff. No, I’m not complaining about the food, or the new $300,000 set up. I am complaining about the warming of our food. I know that the food may be somewhat hot when it is first served, but after a while the food is usually warm or even cold! This means that in order to have a decent hot meal we must heat it up in the one microwave provided for 2500 students. Yes, we used to have two microwaves and that was a little more convenient, but now with only one, I spend most of my time heating up my food for six minutes because the microwave is so slow. This causes a back-up in the microwave line and thus a block up in the main food serving area. With at least two more microwaves, which are not anywhere near as expensive as the $300,000 used to remodel the new cafeteria, students may be a little happier, or at least have hot food. Tina Sylvester Rush ktmbiuush 5^7% of* +he. populaHon L/ofed dgcunsf 5lid Uilh'C. PhiJ £)onohuc. (p^°/o of ihe popuKtiori yofcd O-^cLi'nst (jeorQc. I- Won- +be- war- and-thz,- othcr-gtAy-is-a- bam I3ush. —X V\ / / I / ] fflerodHh Freshmar) Dbes CL 59-5 on the. Competency j-esi meotn JO won or fosi'? Class Council would like to thank all of you who supported he Comhuskin’ Breakfast and made it a success. We hope that the ;!!ornhuskin’ Breakfast will be added as a Meredith Comhuskin’ radition. A special thank you goes to Thad O’Briant for preparing the ireakfast and to following faculty, staff and administration who helped lerve at the breakfast: Dean Dorothy Sizemore Murphy Osborne Libby Weber Adrienne Dyson Becky Bradshaw Madalyn Gaito Cheryl Smith Dr. Elizabeth Wolfinger Dr. Glen Chappell Dr. Betty Webb Beth Cashwell Libbie Mullinnix Paula O’Briant Dr. Charles Davis Janice McLendon Dr. Sandra Hanner Dr. Lyn Aubrecht Marge Stevens Dr. Bob Vance Dr. Brent Pitts

Page Text

This is the computer-generated OCR text representation of this newspaper page. It may be empty, if no text could be automatically recognized. This data is also available in Plain Text and XML formats.

Return to page view