Meredith herald Volume XI, Issue 26 April 26, 1995 Raleigli, North Carolina Meredith holds its annual Leadership Awards Day Meredith College held its annual Leadership Awards Day Convocation on Monday at the 10 o’clock hour in Jones Auditorium. The purpose of the ceremony was to recognize student leaders and advisors as well as to in duct newly elected leaders for the 1995- 1996 school year. A reception was held immediately following the pre sentation. Cheryl Jenkins, associate director of student activities, welcomed award recipients, faculty, students and fami lies attending the convocation. After her opening comments, Jenkins in vited onto stage Kristen Tyvoll and Jean Leake, Leadership Awards Day co chairs, to thank them for their time and help in putting the ceremony together. Students, leaders themselves, from different organizations on campus pre sented fellow organization members and classmates with plaques, flowers, certificates and other gifts as each re cipient was called onto stage. These students received leadership awards; Erica Balmer—Student Development and Leadership Award Rebecca Huffstetler and Stacy Wilson—Freshman Service and Dedication Award Karen Elrod—”You Make a Differ ence” Student Advisor Award Amy Harper—SGA Outstanding Leadership and Service Award, MCJWC Outstanding Board Member Kelly Formy-Duval—SGA Outstand ing Executive Member Award Nickie Bounds—RHB Executive Committee Extra Effort Award Amy Johnson—Resident Assistant Extra Effort Award Alyce Turner—WINGS Dedication and Outstanding Leadership Award Addie Tschamler and Clarky Lucas— Meredith Herald Leadership Award Jennifer Jetson, Shannon Peterson and Melissa Massengill—Meredith Herald Dedication Award Nancy Carr—Acorn Service and Dedication Award Amy Newsom—Oak Leaves Out standing Section Editor Rachel Bordeaux—Oak Leaves Dedicaiton Award Amber Mosley—MCJWC Outstand ing New Member Pin Pin Lian—MIA Extra Effort Award Joy Smith and Tina Sylvester- Senior Service and Dedication Award Collyn Evans and Jonna Anderson— Sophomore Service and Dedication Award Jaime Morris—MEA Outstanding Service and Dedication Award Katherine Davis—MEA Excellence in Leadership Award, Outstanding Senior Veronica Ingram—ABA Sojourner Truth Award Melissa Bryant—ABA Service and Dedication Award Shannon Bizzel—Outstanding Astrotekton Award Jennifer Stables—Philaretian Dedica tion Award Teresa Latham—Outstanding Senator Award Shelly Barrick and Julia Rathbone— Junior Service and Dedication Award Angela Denney—MRA Excellence in Leadership,Award Dana Holder—MRA Outstanding Service and Dedication Award Tara Estes—AMC Outstanding Leadership and Participation Award Jennifer Tingen—Student Foundation Presidential Award Jan McNeill—MCA Outstanding Service Award Jan Yow—MCA Outstanding Leader ship Award Echo Simmons—Alpha Psi Omega Outstanding Service to the Fraternity Jeannie Spruill—Underclassperson Theatre Award Rebecca Daw—Upperclassperson Theatre Award Brenda Kalavsky—SIFE Outstanding Service and Leadership Betsy Trible—Outstanding Student Life Committee Member Beth Boyette—Carlyle Campbell Award • Rebecca Sweeny—TBW Outstanding Senior in Business and Economics Award Outstanding Seniors—Kristy Applehans, Mary Barron, Carrie Farmer, Hollie Goins, Ciy'stal Howard, Leah Ritchie, Michelle Smith, Tina Sylvester, Paula Trantham Current SGA president Kelly Formy- Duval and newly elected SGA presi dent June Holland gave words of wis dom to the award recipients as the ceremony came to a close. Formy-Duval read verses from the popular song “For ever Young, ” as she bid her position as SGA president farewell and handed over her eavH tn HnibnH Holland closed with comments from the children’s story-creator and writer. Dr. Suess and reminded stu dents of her motto and theme for the 1995-96 school year: “Oh the Places We’ll Go!” Meredith says good-bye to Sizemore, welcomes new dean By Marsha Tutor A picnic was held in honor of Sharon Cannon, the new dean of students, and Dorothy Sizemore, the former dean of students. Wed., April 19 from 4 - 6 p.m. The picnic was held in the courtyard to make it very inclusive for all stu dents, commuters and residents,' fac ulty and staff. The gathering was a celebration to say “thank you” to Dean Sizemore and “welcome” to Dean Can non. The entertainment for the picnic was provided by Will Silver, who played an assortment of music on the keyboard. Silver is a social studies teacher at Daniels Junior High School in Raleigh. Sizemore and Cannon were easy to spot because they both wore daisy corsages. Daisies are a part of Meredith’s history. Cannon comes to Meredith from Greensboro College where she was Director of Leadership and Orientation Programs. Cannon’s husband, Jeff, was also in attendance at the picnic. He works in student development for the business school at UNC Chapel Hill. Cannon is very enthusiastic, and eager about her new position asdeanofstudentsat Meredith College. If you were unable to meet her at the picnic, her office is located on the second floor of Cate Center. She will eagerly welcome any students. photo by Laura Ross Meredith students and faculty shared some tears and laughter as they said good-bye to retiring Dean Dorothy Sizemore and welcomed new Dean of Students Sharon Cannon.

Page Text

This is the computer-generated OCR text representation of this newspaper page. It may be empty, if no text could be automatically recognized. This data is also available in Plain Text and XML formats.

Return to page view