Campus Extras

Contributions needed for Zora Neale Hurston museum

Contributed by Beth Morris

There's some exotic ring that listeners seem to hear when the name Zora Neale Hurston rolls off the tongue of anyone who says it. And there are many who saying it. Last month Hurston was the first black woman to be published by the Library of America, where she joined writers such as Mark Twain, Flannery O'Conner and William Faulkner. Not only did she excel as a novelist, but she was also an excellent folklorist, anthropologist and adventurist.

During the 1920s, Hurston studied at Howard University in Washington, DC. It was there that she decided to follow a literary career. Over the years, she was successful at obtaining publication, yet she earned very little money for her pieces. In fact, she died in 1960 penniless and forgotten.

Alice Walker's 1978 discovery of Hurston's unmarked grave in Fort Pierce, Florida ignited a revival honoring Hurston that is still going strong. Thanks to Cartheda Konchellah, later this year residents of Belle Glade, Florida will witness the opening of a second museum dedicated in Hurston's honor. Konchellah plans to convert a school building into the Hurston museum. She wants to rebuild the inside of the old 1929 schoolhouse and is currently trying to raise money. The country has graciously leased the two acres of farmland that the school house now sits on for \$1 a year.

Hurston's popularity among college students remains as her novel Their Eyes Were Watching God is still a bestseller fifty-eight years after its first publication. Because there aremany Meredith students who love and respect the work of Hurston, the Colton English Club, along with the Association for Black Awareness, has decided to send in a contribution. If thereare any individuals who would also like to contribute, they may do so by sending a check to Nancy Carr, CEC president, 302 Heilman Dorm. The deadline for contributing is May 1, 1995. Please make checks payable to Meredith College.

New members inducted into Kappa Nu Sigma

The Meredith College scholastic honor society, Kappa Nu Sigma, was pleased to induct 43 new members this year in recognition of their outstanding academic acievement. These students were inducted this year:

Fall-Shannon Baynor, Diane Houghton Blanchard, Laura Alexandra Coker, Karen Elizabeth Elrod, Sandra Kay Haigler, Christy Lynn Jackson, Melissa Gold O'Neal, Grace Gibson Pearce, Leah Elizabeth Ritchie, Meredith Linton Taylor; Spring—Kelly Jo Abernathy, Lisa Anne Bamford, Kathryn White Bryant, Morgan Leigh Dalrymple, Stephanie Scott Dean, Scottie Lea Eustis, Tonya Carol Floyd, Robin Kathleen Hensarling, Amy Elizabeth Hill, Dana Lee Holder, June Nicole Holland, Melissa Anne Jolley, Debora Kay Kolb, Tammy Denise Marshburn, Bridgett Dawn Mathis, Rebecca Lynn May, Mary Ashley McCormick, Shurley Ray McCullen, Lori Beth Miller, Laura, Louise Morgan, Mindi Lee Outlaw, Debra Poage Kennedy, Giselle Heavey Powell, Kristin Awatif Rihani, Shannon Elizabeth Smith, Christina Louise Steward, Jacqueline Mann Straub, Kristen Leigh Tyvoll, Laura Ellen Wade, Mary Ellen West, Marie Elaine Willett, Hollie Jane Wright, Jan Allyson Yow.

Kappa Nu Sigma was also pleased to award two Helen Price Scholarships to the sophomore and junior with the highest grade point averages in their respective classes. These students were the recipients: Joan Carol Colston, sophomore; Scottie Lea Eustis, junior. Congratulations to all of these students for their outstanding accomplishments.

The speaker at the spring banquet and induction ceremony on March 22 was Dr. Virginia Knight, head of the department of mathematics and computer science. Thank you Dr. Knight for a very interesting speech.

Mu Gamma holds first induction

In April the department of foreign languages received the charter for a chapter of the National Foreign Language Honor Society, Alpha Mu Gamma. The Meredith Chapter, Mu Gamma, held its first induction on April 24. Students who have a 3.0 GPA and have received a 4.0, that is an A in at least two consecutive semesters of study in the same foreign language, are eligible to become members of Alpha Mu Gamma. Students are also considered if their professor can attest to their excellence in the foreign language, are eligible to become members of excellence in the foreign language during their second, uncompleted semester.

Thus, the society recognizes and honors students who have distinguished themselves at any level of language study. Monday's initiation ceremony was held by the professors of the Foreign Language Department. Invited speakers were Dr. Jean Jackson, vice president for Student Development who welcomed the charter members and Dr. Janice Swab, professor in the Department of Biology, who entertained the group with her witty closing remarks based on her travel and language experiences. Several parents and friends of the initiates attended the ceremony as well.

These students were initiated: French-McCurry, Jennifer; Sorrells, Jaime; German-Dinklage, Heather Elizabeth; Everhart, Jan; Garren, Stacey; Greiner, Susan L.; Huggins, Martha; Pettit, Amanda Jo; Powell, Giselle H.; Italian-Balmer, Erica Leigh; Latin-McManamy, Sharolyn S.; Spanish-Amburn, Jami R.; Bell, Fanella S.; Gauquie, Danielle; Glossip, Christy; Laughinghouse, Emily G.; Littleton, Blake; Monroe, Carla Renee; Sikoski, Heather L.; Wahula, Carol.

After the ceremony, new officers were elected. They are president, Danielle Gauquie (Spanish); vice president, Heather Sikoski (Spanish); Secretary/Treasurer, Stacey Garren (German); marshall, Sharolyn McManamy (Latin).

SWAB continued from page five

Swab, along with her students, may present the picture of a mother duck and her ducklings, but when she speaks, she soars like an eagle. Her lectures are presented with energy, enthusiasm, humor, and are loaded with information. From the smallest water plant to the largest tree, she knows the scientific name of every plant. When a student expresses wonder at this knowledge, she pauses and states modestly, "Oh, I just use them all the time." And she is off to the next tree with her ducklings in tow. They are looking up. They are looking down.

Students honored for leadership and service

Silver Shield, Meredith's honorary leadership society, recognized seven outstanding students Sunday, Apr. 23. According to the Silver Shield constitution, faculty and current Silver Shield members nominate new members on the basis of constructive leadership, honor, and service to the school. Silver Shield recognizes those women from the junior and senior classes who promote by example and precept a wellrounded student life, an understanding between faculty and students, a high standard of honor and cooperation in the student body, the ideals and traditions of Meredith College, and a strong commitment to the honor system on campus.

New junior inductees include: Amy Dun, Tara Flanagan, Veronica Ingram, Pin Pin Lian, Cindy Quick, Kristen Tyvoll and Jan Yow. Associate members, Morgan Dalrymple, Melissa Perkins-Bryant and Alyce Turner, were made full members and hold the following offices of secretary, vice president and president respectively for 1995-6. Please congratulate the new inductees on their commendable achievement.