April 26,1995 Campus Extras 7 Contributions needed for Zora Neale Hurston museum Contributed by Beth Morris There’s some exotic ring that lis teners seem to hear when the name Zora Neale Hurston rolls off the tongue of anyone who says it. And there are many who saying it. Last month Hurston was the first black woman to be published by the Library of America, where she joined writers such as Mark Twain, Flannery O’Conner and Will iam Faulkner. Not only did she excel as a novelist, but she was also an excel lent folklorist, anthropologist and adventurist. During the 1920s, Hurston studied at Howard University in Washington, DC. It was there that she decided to follow a literary career. Over the years, she was successful at obtaining publi cation, yet she earned very little money for her pieces. In fact, she died in 1960 penniless and forgotten. Alice Walker’s 1978 discovery of Hurston’s unmarked grave in Fort Pierce, Florida ignited a revival honor ing Hurston that is still going strong. Thanks to Cartheda Konchellah, later this year residents of Belle Glade, Florida will witness the opening of a second museum dedicated in Hurston’s honor. Konchellah plans to convert a school building into the Hurston mu seum. She wants to rebuild the inside of the old 1929 schoolhouse and is currently trying to raise money. The country has graciously leased the two acres of farmland that the school house now sits on for $1 a year. Hurston’s popularity among col lege students remains as her novel Their Eyes Were Watching God is stiU a bestseller fifty-eight years after its first publication. Because there aremany Meredith students who love and respect the work of Hurston, the Colton English Club, along with the Association for Black Awareness, has decided to send in a contribution. If thereare any individuals who would also like to contribute, they may do so by sending a check to Nancy Carr, CEC president, 302 Heilman Dorm. The deadline for contributing is May 1, 1995. Please make checks payable to Meredith College. New members inducted into Kappa Nu Sigma The Meredith College scholastic honor society. Kappa Nu Sigma, was pleased to induct 43 new members this year in recognition of their out standing academic acievement. Tliese students were inducted this year Fall—Shannon Baynor, Diane Houghton Blanchard, Laura Alexandra Coker, Karen Elizabeth Elrod, Sandra Kay Haigler, Christy Lynn Jackson, Melissa Gold O’Neal, Grace Gibson Pearce, Leah Elizabeth Ritchie, Meredith Linton Taylor; Spring—Kelly Jo Abernathy, Lisa Anne Bamford, Kathryn White Bryant, Morgan Leigh DaJrymple, Stephanie Scott Dean, Scot- tie Lea Eustis, Tonya Carol Floyd, Robin Kathleen Hensarling, Amy Elizabeth Hill, Dana Lee Holder, June Nicole Holland, Melissa Anne Jolley, Debora Kay Kolb, Tammy Denise Marshburn, Bridgett Dawn Mathis, Rebecca Lynn May, Mary Ashley McCormick, Shuriey Ray McCuUen, Lori Beth Miller, Laura, Louise Morgan, Mindi Lee Outlaw, Debra Poage Kennedy, Giselle Heavey Powell, Kristin Awatif Rihani, Shan non Elizabeth Smith, Christina Louise Steward, Jacqueline Mann Straub, Kristen Leigh Tyvoll, Laura Ellen Wade, Mary Ellen West, Marie Elaine Willett, Hollie Jane Wright, Jan AUyson Yow. Kappa Nu Sigma was also pleased to award two Helen Price Scholarships to the sophomore and junior with the highest grade point averages in their respective classes. These students were the recipients; Joan Carol Colston, sophomore; Scottie Lea Eustis, junior. Congratulations to all of these students for their outstanding accomplishments. The speaker at the spring banquet and induction ceremony on March 22 was Dr. Virginia Knight, head of the department of mathematics and com puter science. Thank you Dr. Knight for a very interesting speech. Mu Gamma holds first induction In April the department of foreign languages received the charter for a chapter of the National Foreign Lan guage Honor Society, Alpha Mu Gamma. The Meredith Chapter, Mu Gamma, held its first induction on April 24. Students who have a 3.0 GPA and have received a 4.0, that is an A in at least two consecutive semesters of study in the same foreign language, are eligible to become members of Alpha Mu Gamma. Students are also consid ered if their professor can attest to their excellence in the foreign lan guage, are eligible to become mem bers of excellence in the foreign lan guage during their second, uncom pleted semester. Tlius, the society recognizes and honors students who have distin guished themselves at any level of lan guage study. Monday’s initiation cer emony was held by the professors of the Foreign Language Department. Invited speakers were Dr. Jean Jack- son, vice president for Student Devel opment who welcomed the charter members and Dr. Janice Swab, profes sor in the Department of Biology, who entertained the group with her witty closing remarks based on her travel and language experiences. Several par ents and friends of the initiates at tended the ceremony as well. These students were initiated: French-McCurry, Jennifer; Sorrells, Jaime; German-Dinklage, Heather Eliza beth; Everhart, Jan; Garren, Stacey; Greiner, Susan L; Huggins, Martha; Pettit, Amanda Jo; Powell, Giselle H.; Italian-Balmer, Erica Leigh; Latin- McManamy, Sharolyn S.; Spanish- Amburn, Jami R.; Bell, Fanella S.; Gauquie, Danielle; Glossip, Christy; Laughinghouse, Emily G.; Littleton, Blake; Monroe, Carla Renee; Sikoski, Heather L; Wahula, Carol. After the ceremony, new officers were elected. They are president, Danielle Gauquie (Spanish); vice presi dent, Heather Sikoski (Spanish); Secre- taryA'reasurer, Stacey Garren (Ger man); marshall, Sharolyn McManamy (Latin). SWAB continued from page five Swab, along with her students, may present the picture of a mother duck and her ducklings, but when she speaks, she soars like an eagle. Her lectures are presented with energy, enthusiasm, humor, and are loaded with information. From the smallest water plant to the largest tree, she knows the scientific name of every plant. Wlien a student expresses won der at this knowledge, she pauses and states modestly, “ Oh, 1 just use themall the time.” And she is off to the next tree with her ducklings in tow. They are looking up. They are looking down. Students honored for leadership and service Silver Shield, Meredith’s honorary leadership society, recognized seven outstanding students Sundiy, Apr. 23. According to the Silver Shield constitu tion, faculty and current Silver Shield members nominate new members on the basis of constructive leadership, honor, and service to the school. Silver Shield recognizes those women from the junior and senior classes who pro mote by example and precept a well- rounded student life, an understand ing between faculty and students, a high standard of honor and coopera tion in the student body, the ideals and traditions of Meredith College, and a strong commitment to the honor sys tem on campus. Newjuniorinductees include; Amy Dun, Tara Flanagan, Veronica Ingram, Pin Pin Lian, Cindy Quick, Kristen Tyvoll and Jan Yow. Associate mem bers, Morgan Dalrymple, Melissa Perkins-Bryant and Alyce T timer, were made full members and hold the fol lowing offices of secretary, vice presi dent and president respectively for 1995-6. Please congratulate the new inductees on their commendable achievement.

Page Text

This is the computer-generated OCR text representation of this newspaper page. It may be empty, if no text could be automatically recognized. This data is also available in Plain Text and XML formats.

Return to page view