New Member Joins 50-Year Club

It was an hour of honor.

It was an hour of reminiscing with old familiar friends.

But more than that, it was an hour to welcome a new member into Fieldcrest's noteworthy 50- Year Club.

After working for Fieldcrest for 50 years, Kermit Thompson was honored by management and fellow club members for his outstanding service achievement at a luncheon at Eden's Meadow Greens Country Club on September 27.

William C. Battle, president of Fieldcrest Mills, Inc., commended Thompson for his fine work and presented the honored guest with a personal letter of congratulations, a 50-year service pin and a \$500 check.

Company executives addressing the group included Arthur Jackson, senior vice president; W. Giles Hunnings, division vice president-Bed Fashions Manufacturing; and Frank Barron, division vice president and general manager-Bedspread Manufacturing.

Other officials at the luncheon were Dr. L. H. Hance, senior vice president-Research and Engineering; Jerry Holland, plant manager, Bedspread Greige Mill; Sam Hairston, superintendent, Carding and Spinning, Bedspread Greige Mill; Jones Norman, personnel manager, Bedspread Greige Mill and Charles Wilson, director, Employee Benefits and Services.

Haven Newton, vice president-Industrial Relations, introduced the 50-(Continued On Page Eight)



Fieldcrest President William C. Battle (right) congratulates Kermit Thompson (left) for his outstanding service.



Retiree and 50-Year Club member Allie Houchins enjoys the



Hugh T. Lee and Lonnie Hankins (foreground, left-right) talked with fellow club members and company officials.



Other club members attending were (front to back) John Page, Earl Bondurant, Josie Taylor, Betty Ratliff and Thomas Patterson. Jones Norman, personnel manager at the Bedspread Greige Mill is at far left.



Bunyan Lee Thompson welcomes his brother, Kermit, into the 50-Year



W. Giles Hunnings, division vice president-Bed Fashions Manufacturing, addresses the group and head table guests (left-right) Dr. L. H. Hance, William C. Battle, Kermit Thompson, Arthur Jackson and Frank Barron.