

THE MILL WHISTLE

Vol. 36

Eden, N. C., April 3, 1978

No. 18

Columbus Towel Honored For Imployment Of Handicapped

fieldcrest's Columbus Towel Mill honored as Handicapped Emyer of the Year by the Columbus



R. E. Reece

Chapter of Goodwill Industries of the Chattahoochee Valley at its annual meeting held on March 12. This is the second honor received by the Columbus Towel Mill in regard to the hiring of the handicapped. Last year the plant was named Handicapped Employer of the year by the Columbus Mayor's Committee on Hiring the Handicapped.

Accepting the award on behalf of the Columbus Towel Mill and Fieldcrest Mills, Inc. was R. E. Reece, area personnel manager. Also present at the banquet was D. W. Sprouse, division vice president and general manager - Columbus Towel

(Continued On Page Two)

Second Vice President

Battle Holds ATMI Office

William C. Battle, president and chief executive officer of Fieldcrest Mills, Inc., was elected second vice president of the American Textile Manufacturers Institute at a meeting in San Francisco recently.

Battle joined Fieldcrest in 1971 as president and chief operating officer. He became president and chief executive officer in May of 1972.

With ATMI, he is currently serving as a member of the Board of Directors, the Executive Committee and the International Trade Committee, of which he was formerly chairman. He is also chairman of the Membership Committee.

A former ambassador to Australia, he was a senior partner in the law firm of McGuire, Woods and Battle, of Charlottesville and Richmond, Va., prior to joining Fieldcrest. A son of John S. Battle, a former governor of Virginia, he has been active in government and politics for a number of years and was the Democratic nominee for governor of Virginia in 1969. He is a native of Charlottesville and was graduated from the University of Virginia Law School in 1947.



Fieldcrest Board Meets At Eden

The Board of Directors of Fieldcrest Mills, Inc. met on March 2, at Eden. Shown in front of the Fieldcrest Technical Center, members present at the meeting were front row from left, R. P. Chapman, A. O. Wellman, J. I. Ahern, and C. R. Charbonnier. In middle row, from left, P. H. Theopold, R. G. Stone, F. C. Dumaine, and H. M. Redman. In back row, from left, T. B. Stanley, Jr., D. B. Dumaine, J. B. Ely, II, W. C. Battle.