**SCHOOL** 



Connie B. Mounce Gertrude D. Adkins Educators of the Month

The New Bern-Craven County Chamber of Commerce in conjunction with the New Bern-Craven County Board of Education spotlights "Educators of the Month" for February 1984. Mrs. Connie B. Mounce, Media Specialist at Vanceboro Farm Life Elementary School and Mrs. Gertrude D. Adkins, First Grade teacher at Trent Part Elementary School.

Mrs. Mounce resides at Route 2, Box 119-A, New Bern, N.C. with her husband and their two daughters. She grew up in Beaufort County and graduated from Aurora High School. She received her B.S. and her Master's Degree in Library Science from East Carolina University, Greenville, N.C. At the present she is working toward her Principal's Certificate. She is a member of Dublin Grove Free Will Baptist Church. Her hobbies are reading and cross-stitch.

Mrs. Adkins resides at 1908 Newsom Drive, New Bern, N.C. with her husband. She received her B.S. Degree in Primary Education from Bennett College, Greensboro, N.C. She serves as Assistant to the Principal and is a member of the Faculty Policy Committee, Behavorial Management Policy and NCAE Building Representative. At St. Peter's AME Zion Church where she is a member she serves as Financial Secretary, Organist and Treasurer of Church School.

## Register Awarded Scholarship

Cynthia Dawn Register of Cove City has been awarded a prestigious Virginia W. Jones Scholarship for the 1984-85 academic year at Peace College here.

The Jones scholarships are Peace College's top scholarships awarded to a few select students. Jones scholars are chosen on the basis of outstanding academic records, SAT scores, extra-curricular participation and citizenship. The scholars must also come to the Peace campus for a day of interviews with Peace faculty and administrative staff members.

Miss Register is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Walter E. Register of Route 1, Cove City. She is a senior at West Craven High School.



### **Cynthia Dawn Register**

Cindy is president of the National Honor Society Chapter, co-editor of the yearbook and is listed in "Who's Who Among American High School Students." She received the "United States A chievement A cademy Recognition" in both English and math, and the Citizenship Award her junior year.

Peace College is a two-year women's college offering associate degrees in liberal arts, music and business.

# West Craven High School Honor Roll & Principal's List

Patricia Dawson, Rosiland

Dixon, Alfred Dunn, Tammy

Ellison, Kerri Ensley, Mary

Franklin, John Hawkins,

Wayne Hedgepath, Candy Hoyle, Kelly Ipock, Ethel Leary, Pam Ludwig, Amy

McCarter, Elevia McCoy,

Anita Murriell, Tammy

Thompson, Angela Simmons,

Angela Smith, Jane Smith, Wendy Toler, DeAnn Tripp.

Kelly Walker, Delores Waters.

10th Grade: Billy Arrington,

Laura Barlow, Lynda Barrow,

Lora Coleman, Sonya Ful-

more, Kristen Gamble, Shelia

Hardy, Charles Hawkins,

Debbie Hodges, Jonathan

Kelly, Kimberly McCoy

Michelle Miller, Kathleen

9th Grade: Joanette Best,

Eugene Caton, Michael Cox,

Lisa Davis, Fagin Fisher,

Michelle Gaskins, Carol Ipock,

Michelle Kearney, Melba

McCoy, Renee Mitchell,

Paula Moore, Eva Pugh,

Patricia Spruill, Lori Strum,

Harvey Wade, Vickey Walker,

Steve Watson.

Powers, Sandy Wiggins.

West Craven High School announces its 3rd six weeks Honor Roll and Principal's List. Principal List is all A's and Honor Roll is A's with one B.

#### PRINCIPAL'S LIST

12 Grade: Kim Fillingame, Rhonda Heath, Angela Lawhorn, Cindy Register, Mony Tawfik.

11th Grade: Ginny Chandler, Carla Wright.

10th Grade: Denise Fillingame, James Hodges, Amy Ireland, Susan Register.

9th Grade: Candy Walker, Hud Weiss.

### HONOR ROLL

12th Grade: Teresa Clark, Kim Gladson, Reggie Goodman, Patricia Haddock, Karen Harman, Michael Hodges, Stacy Lee, Suddie Lloyd Lynwood McCoy Vivian McGlohon, Denise Parks, Shelda Ramsey, Sherry Register, Stephanie Seigler, Melanie Toon, Perry Whitford.

11th Grade: Patricia Anderson, Margaret Barnhill, Joelle Brown, Sharon Campbell, Asha Davenport,



FBLA Winners With Their Awards FBLA Club Sweeps First Places By LESLIE MANNING

Students from West Craven High School won a total of five honors at the Future Business Leaders of America District II competition held at Clinton High School on Saturday, February 18.

Twelve students and their advisors, Mrs. Colleen Harris and Mrs. Shirley Eriksson attended the conference and competed with twenty-two other high schools.

Kirk Daniel and Jo Carol

Arthur won first place awards in business graphics. Susan Register placed first in the Clerk-Typist II event, and Lee Kirkman won first place for his speech, "Strengthening the Confidence of Students in Themselves and Their Work." Third place went to Ginny Chandler for Stenographer I.

March 29-April 1, these students will compete at the State FBLA Convention to be held in Charlotte, N.C.

## 1st Semester Principal's List & Honor Roll

West Craven High School announces the 1st semester Principal's List and Honor Roll.

#### PRICINPAL'S LIST

12th Grade: Rhonda Heath, Sherry Register, Mony Tawfik.

11th Grade: None

10th Grade: Laura Barlow, Lora Coleman, Denise Fillingame, Kristen Gamble, Amy Ireland, Susan Register 9th Grade: None.

## HONOR ROLL

12th Grade: Jill Bland, Bethany Brown, Kim Fillingame, Reggie Goodman, Patricia Haddock, Karen Harman, Michael Hodges, Connie Ipock, Diana Ipock, Angela Lawhorn, Stacy Lee, Leslie Manning, Vivian McGlohon, Denise Parks, Shelda Ramsey, Cindy Register, Joanna Register, Stephanie Seighler, Wesley Stanley, Bridget Sutton, Danny Wall, Perry Whitford.

11th Grade: Patricia Anderson, Margaret Barnhill, Joelle Brown, Sharon Campbell, Ginny Chandler, Asha Davenport, Patricia Dawson, Terry Ensley, Mary Franklin, John Hawkins, Wayne Hedgepath, Candy Hoyle, Victor Jones, Ethel Leary, Pam Ludwig, Elevia McCoy, Anita Murriell, Angela Smith, Jane Smith, Beverly Smith, Stacey Stilley, Tammy Thompson, Wendy Toler, Kelly Walker, Dolores Waters, Carla Wright.

10th Grade: Lynda Barrow, Faith Doiel, George Evans, Sonya Fulmore, Shelia Hardy, Debbie Hodges, James Hodges, Jonathan Kelly, Kimberly McCoy, Clay McOmber, Michelle Miller, Keith Morris, Kathleen Powers, Sandy Wiggins, Penny Wright.

9th Grade: James Baxter Joanette Best, Lora Elliott, Michelle Gaskins, Barbara Guice, Michelle Kearney, Melba McCoy, Renee Mitchell, Paula Moore, Patricia Spruill, Candy Walker, Vickie Walker, Steve Watson, Hud Weiss, Kevin Whitford.

