The Belles

OF ST. MARY'S

Vol. XXV, No. 13

1962

Best, bara attle, Hus-

vine-

Mar-

ittle,

En-

nan;

onie

Sus-

lges,

ary,

ison,

lker,

plan

nds.

iting ield;

ome,

ulia

udie

iane

ing

fra-

iers

tire lels

Vil-

arel

re-

uit

om

rth

of

ind

the

in

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA

May 11, 1962

ST. MARY'S COMPLETES ELECTIONS

BROOKE DAVILA
REIGNS AS
MAY QUEEN



Sophomores Win Again

The annual Belles's Class Song Contest was held during Assembly on Thursday, May 10. This year the Sophomore Class was the winner with light, humorous words sung to the tune of "In the Evening by the Moonlight". Each class had prepared a clever, amusing song which dealt with this year at St. Mary's and the things that stood out for them After each of the classes had presented its song, the judges, Chip Augustine, Mrs. Fish, and Mrs. Williams, put their heads together and arrived at their decision.

This contest was originated by the *Belies*' staff several years ago. Since it was first begun, the contest has been an opportunity for creativity, competition, and fun for all St. Mary's students.

SEA SAINTS CHOOSE NEW LEADER

The Sea Saints have chosen the new president for next year. Replacing Helen Thackston will be Flo McNeer from Lake Alfred, Florida.

STUDENT GOVERNMENT LEADERS INSTALLED

On Thursday, April 26, the new Student Government Association officers were installed in the chapel. Betsy Nichols gave a short farewell talk and presented the notebooks of the President and Vice-president of Student Government to the new officers, Haynes Walker and Verna Gillam respectively. The other new officers were presented with their

notebooks. They are: Cydne Wright, Secretary-Treasurer of Student Government, Mary Stella Leak, Chairman of Hall Council, and Belle Williams, President of Day Students. Haynes asked the students for all their Cooperation in the coming year to make Student Government even more efficient than it has been in the past.

SIGMA — MU TEAMS IN HOT COMPETITION

On Thursday May 3, 1962, Carol Hardy announced the results of the Letter Club elections in Assembly. Lee Hopkins was chosen as president of the Letter Club. Flo Pitts and Verna Gillam were elected as president and vice president of the Mus, and Linda Connelly and Nelson Pemberton were chosen to lead the Sigmas in the coming year.

With the golf, tennis, bowling, archery, and soft ball tournaments remaining to be completed, the Mushold a 15 point lead over the Sigmas.

CIRCLE WALKS

FIVE NEW
MEMBERS
INDUCTED

On Monday, May 7, the Circle walked and inducted five new members. New Circle members are Gee Canada, newly elected president of the senior class for next year; Haynes Walker, president of Student Government; Penny Ives, president of the Sigmas this year; Daphne Connelly, Chief Dance Marshal; and Reide Watson, Senior Honor Council representative for next year. Membership in the Circle is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a girl at St. Mary's.



Newly elected leaders for 1962-63 include, left to right, Ann Smith, Chairman of Assembly; Nelson Pemberton, Secretary of Hall Council; Gee Canada, president of the senior class; Reide Watson, senior Honor Council member; Sarah Rand, Fire Captain; and Harriett King, secretary of Legislative Body.

St. Mary's Alumnae Meets



The annual meeting of the St. Mary's Alumnae was held on Saturday, May 5. There were various activities for the alumnae to attend. Dr. and Mrs. Stone gave a coffee hour at 10:30 a.m. The Alumnae Council met at 11:00 a.m. to elect its officers. At noon class reunion pictures were made in front of the dining room. The classes of '12, '17, '22, '27, '32, '37, '42, '47, '52, '57, and '61 had their reunion. The Alumnae luncheon was held at 12:30 with Mrs. Thomas Chatterson Coxe of Darlington, S. C., as speaker. Mrs. Coxe, formerly Emily Wood Badham of the Class of '29, is the author of Mother of the Maid. The meeting of the Alumnae Association took place at 2:00 p.m. At 4:00 p.m. the May Day festivities began. The newly elected officers of the Alumnae Association are the following: President, Katherine Duff Powell '28; Area II Vice President, Sarah Dawson Davis '43; Area IV Vice President, Barbara Doar Cooper '56; Area VI Vice President, Anna Gordon Dameron '33; South Carolina Alumna-at-large, Arabelle Thomas Rogers '15; North Carolina Alumna-at-large, Elizabeth Ferguson Anderson '34.

New Marshals Elected For 1962-63

The election of the Marshals for next year was held. Six girls have been selected to marshal for the 1962-'63 session. The head marshal is Matilda Gholson. With Matilda are Susan Goode, Frances McLanahan, Cornelia Johnson, Betsy Steele, and Elizabeth Lackey. The new marshals will begin their duties on Sunday, May 13 and will assist in the Graduation exergical.