Page Four

THE HILLTOP, MARS HILL COLLEGE, MARS HILL, N. C.

CLIO AND NONPAREIL SOCIETIES HONOR EACH OTHER Clios gave their annual tea in honor of their cousins, the Nons,

February 10 at 3:45. The program was held in Stroup parlor, and refreshments were served in Edna Moore parlor. Chairmen of the various committees for the occasion were: theme, Mimi Devine; program, Joan Barron and Jane Blake; decorations, Vadna De Loach and Nancy Fant; dating, Mary Long and Polly Osteen, invitation, Mouise Simpson and Sandra Hickman; coats, Lorena Lee and Joyce

Hodges and Jo Ellen Bradley; clean-up, Carolyn Lawton and Eleanor Taylor; costumes and property, Doris Ann Ensley and Jane Poplin.

Non-Eu held a joint meeting February 11, with Ken Small as the presiding officer. Future dates for the Nonpareil Society reveal temperance readings on February 17, and the date of their tea for the Clios is set for February 24. No committees have been appointed.

At their February 4 metings the Clio and Nonpareil Literary Societies had as their guests the Gardner - Webb debating team. The query for discussion was: "Resolved that the United States should extend diplomatic recognition to the Communist government of Red China." The Clios heard the affirmative, Lois Hoyl and Mary Philbeck, from Gardner - Webb. They were in competition with the Mars Hill negatives, Steve Blackwell and Don Kroe. In the hall of black and gold, the Mars Hill affirmative team, with Fieldy Dize and Norman Hupp as speakers, were the opponents of the Gardner-Webb negatives, Reinald Stroupe and Sarah Bullard. Professor Dedmond accompanied the Gardner-Webb team. Harley E. Jolley is the coach for the Mars Hill team. No decision was rendered.

FOCUS WEEK

(Continued from Page 1) and former president of Euthalian Literary Society of Mars Hill; George Pennell, attorney in Asheville; Dr. George E. Dun-

HONOR CLUBS (Continued from Page 1) James, Bill Pruett, Paul Beckham, Allen Pinner, Richard Williams, Benny Helton, Jack Graham, Lloyd Plemmons, Linwood Seymour, Jerry Hartgrove, Kenneth Hampton, Orvis Gray, Lloyd Bailey, Tom Cogdill, Richard Green, Joe Crump, Van Meadows, Dan Webster, Richard McCoy, David Leary, Bundy Locklear, and William Deal.

After the presentation of some works of Pope, Gay, and Swift, and an excerpt from the Greek play, "Antigone," the Scriblerus club initiated the following new members: Martha Barnette, Jane Blake, Jo Ellen Bradley, Sylvia Jean Brissie, Nathan Brooks, Mary Glenn Bunn, Ann Collins, Vernon Culpepper, Lois Dempsey, Sarah Ellen Dozier, Sandra Hickman, Juanita Horton, Mary Elizabeth Kenyon, Janet Lett, Nita Luffman, Joy McGee, Ella Frances McKnight, Polly Osteen, Shirley Oakes, Joyce Owen, Suzanne Nordstorm, Mary Redwine, Anne Robinson, Bobby Robinson, Howard Seymour, Eleanor Taylor, Lawrence Tucker, John Vance, Joe Webb, Hugh Wilder, Dot Wiltshire, Mary Elizabeth Farmer, Violet Moore, and Jimmy Taylor.

The program of the Logothia club was centered around the meaning of the club name and the ideals of the club. After the program the new members were initiated. The new members are: Colon Douglas, Lamar Robinson, Ruth Brunson, Annie Hollifield, Linnie Porter, Nancye Knight,

Dramateer's Give One Act Drama

At the Dramateers meeting on February 21, the secular drama group will present "Manikin and Minikin", a one act poetic drama by Alfred Kreymborg.

The cast will include Mary George Pennell as Manikin, and Joyce Pope as Minikin. Curtain talks will be given by Jane McKee.

"The Twelve Pound Look" by J. M. Barrie will be given by the Dramateers in the chapel program February 23 and 24. Composing the cast will be La Verne Hinson as Sir Harry, Molly Fennell as Lady Sims, Mouise Simpson as Kate, and Gene Wells as Tombes.

Tryouts for "The Far-Away Princess," the Dramateers' entry in the Production Division of the Carolina Dramatic Association's spring festival, will be held in the Playhouse Thursday afternoon, February 24, from 2:00 until 5:00.

were inducted. They are as follows: Charles Ball, Kuhn Kung, Eddie Rickett, Mary Jane Northen, Lillian West, Miriam Bausum, Mary George Pennell, and Harry Mamlin.

After a program about Japan, the International Relations club initiated Joe Mamlin, Bill Cobb, Nancy Davis, Margaret Blount, Audrey Robertson, Barbara Rhymer, Carolyn Ward, Joan Adams, Wallace Taylor, Charles Bullard, John Ellington, Ruby Rhyne, Joan Prince, Joyce Pope, Louis Ensley, Hugh Freeze, Juanita Swann, Mary Frances Collis, Joan Mc-Lean, Marian Ward, Billy Collins, Charles Kinney, Steve Blackwell, Mona Ellen Hyde, Mary Anne Hunter, Gail Fullbright, Janice Miller, and Wilson Hasty.



Banquet held recently in the College cafeteria. This is on club's annual projects. Another project is that of making sat to sell in the girl's dormitories on Friday nights.

The program for the meeting on February 7, was entitled "FAP Home Economics Careers." Those taking part on program wer Mahaffey, Fonrose Johnson, Shirley Olive, and Carolyn Lawican-bo

DEAN'S LIST (Continued from Page 1) Shackleford, Elizabeth Smith, Eleanor Taylor, Jimmy Taylor, Wallace Taylor, Melvyn Tucker, John Vance, Joseph Webb, Dan Webster, Mary Lee Welborn, Joel West, Lillian West, Ralph Williams, Richard Williams, Dorothy Wiltshire, Jack Wright, and Richard Wright.

The all A students for the C-II's were Hannah B. Blackwell, William Stuart Carlton, and James Kim Cole. The C-II's making the dean's list are: Monte Bishop, Hannah Blackwell, Margaret Bost, Patricia Campbell, Stuart Carlton, Dora Carter, Louise Cash, Sandra Castor, Carol Clevenger, Kim Cole, Cecil Cole, Nancy Craddock, Fred Crisp, Iris Cundiff, Fieldy Dize, Gail Fullbright, Barbara Gibson, Doris Gibson, Paul Gillespie, Jack Grose, Caryl Guth, Riley Hagan, Arnold Hannah, Wilson Hasty, Mary Hawkins, Mary Hunter. Arthur James, Rachel Joyce,

Katy Katsarka, Carolyn Killian, Doris Kirk, Patricia Lancaster, Carolyn Lawton, Martha Lee, Lasell Light, Charles McCall, Martha McLeod, Janet McNeil, Betty McRary, Gail Martin, Edna Mizell, Mollie Parrish, Betty Pearson, Curtis Porter, Sandra Pullen, Doris Putnam, Nell Ramsey, Frances Ray, Katherine Reid, Grove Robinson, Lamas

The following committe music appointed to serve this set Win Executive, Clara Herrorⁱⁿ the Wells, Nell Ramsey, Em. on Osborne, Yvonne Lomincollege freshments, Doris Ann ibers o Peggy Byers, Jo Ann v Loly Gayle Hudson, Ruth Bi, oboe Ways and Means, Lou A; Tina borne, Margaret Tamirl Cha Elaine Sanford, Miriam Membership, Shirley Olive³ di Da McCall, Carolyn Allen, jional w Ballard; Clean-up, Sebelia the c iams, Frances Rowe, Yv in m Lominac; Program, Jane At thi Fonrose Johnson, Juanita Iship Publicity, Shirley Sumner, prefe Fagan, Mary Elizabeth K she had Martha Britt, and Glaydsing year per; Devotional, Ann Wshe perf Carolyn Lawton, Jane P Concern Scrapbook, Jean Hodges, ^Mdrew L Edwards, Rinda Edwards the C Lavinia Martin. his grad

conce Wyatt's Grocer ctivities led the CAN GIVE YOU . He ha The Best Food at on m Reasonable Prices eidich st (Contin

ol of M

Like Bedtime .001

