# 

From the Gate City of the South and the Birthplace of O. Henry

VOLUME XXXIII

### SENIOE HIGH SCHOOL, GREENSBORO, N. C., MAY 10, 1957 Holderness, newly elect-ed student body president, along with the other recently elected officers was installed in office be-tore the student body in assembly **Greensboro Students Win Physics Contest**

Larry Brown, senior, won first place in the 1957 state high school physics contest, J. Stanley Johnson, GHS physics teacher, has announced

All four of the top positions in the exam, which was given under the exam, which was given under the auspices of the University of North Carolina, went to GHS stu-dents. Along with Brown second place was awarded to Waldo Hin-shaw, junior. Honorable mentions, the next two highest honors, went to Howward Dickey and Howard

fore the student body in assembly May

May 7. The Student Council report of the year's activities, given by San-dra (this time in her capacity as secretary of the student body) began the program. With Bill O'Brien, student body president in charge the supering

North Carolina, went to GHS stu-dents. Along with Brown second place was awayded to Waldo Hin-shaw, junior. Honorable mentions, the next two highest honors, went to Harwin Dickey and Howard Carr, both seniors. The exam, which consisted of 30 questions, lasted for one hour. With Bill O'Brien, student body president, in charge, the swearing-in ceremonies then began. First on the list was Roy Michaux, succeeding James Spence as Senior Class president. The re-maining rising Senior Class offi-cers were then recognized but not given the oath of office.



Sandra Holderness, recently installed president of GHS, is pic tured above receiving the gavel,

serry Robertson was sworn in as Junior Class president, taking the reins from Wallace Williams. Rising Junior Class officers were then recognized.

NUMBER 15

Class of 1959 Student Council representatives were administered the oath of office, and Youth Council representatives were pre-sented to the audience.

sented to the audience. Next Bill began installing school officers. Linda Cashwell replaced Libby Garvin as Youth Recreation Committee Chairman. Bobby Baynes was replaced as traffic chief by Roger English. Both of these officers will be oc-cupied by seniors. Jey Deifell gave up his position as treasurer of the student body to Pete Banner, and Susan Caviness succeeded Sandra Susan Caviness succeeded Sandra Holderness as secretary. These of-officer will be occupied by juni vs.

After a short speech Buck Hoyle turned over his position as vice-president and his job of presiding in assemblies to Peggy Sink, rising senior.

Last on the program was the installation of Sandra as president. After Bill (dm biser) it the oat; of office, Bill O'Brien symbolic-ally surrendered the gavel to San-dra, who then gave a short acceptance speech

## **Several Seniors Receive Valuable College Grants**

Chosen from a field of Senior High, applicants, Myrna will receive \$500 for her freshman year at the University of North Carolina School of Nursing. If she keeps her grades high, she may then renew her scholarship through her four-year study thereby receiving four-year study, thereby receiving a total of \$2,000. This particular scholarship will be awarded to her by a Bur-Mill representative at the Awards Assembly Tuesday, May 14. Hudgins Wins Grant

Receiving scholarships to David-son College is Tom Hudgins, He along with 26 other high school seniors who won similar scholar-ships, will enter that college next fall under this scholarship.

National Merit Scholarships have been won by Robert Willett and Elwood Hartman, Qualifications for this scholarship were merit, lead-ership, and need. These boys, list-ed with 1800 other winners, will attend the college of their choice

Word has been received here that a number of GHS's gradua-ting seniors have either received outstanding scholarships or cer-tificates of merit. Myrna Autry has been selected to receive the Burlington Mills Foundation nursing scholarship. Chosen from a field of Senior High applicants, Myrna will receive \$500 for her freshman year at the

### **ROTC** Winner

Winner of the Naval ROTC scholarship is Harvin Dickey. He will use this grant at Georgia Tech next fall. The initial scholarship will cover his tuition, special fees, and books. In addition to this he will receive \$600 per year for in-cidențals. Forty other persons have been selected to receive a similar scholarship and another GHS stu-dent, Alec Decker, has been chos-en as an alternate if one of the 

school year

The sophomore home room win-

The sophomore nome room win-ner was room 302 with an average of 84.58, and room 203B came in second with an average of 84.52. Home room 301 won the junior scholarship plaque with an aver-age of 87.83. Second place was won by 305 with an average of 87.50 87.50

the symbol of her office, from Bill

74 STUDENTS ON SPECIAL HONOR ROLL

Special honor roll students for Flynt, Gilbert Frank, and Hilda the second grading period of the Garrett; and from 204, Elwood second semester totaled 74, which Hartman and Al Hattaway. included 23 seniors, 28 juniors, 23 sophomores.

Home room 102's special stu dents are Bonnie Adelstein and Boots Antrim, and from 202 is Larry Brown. Other seniors who made special are, from 101, Strat-ton Eldridge, Mary Pat Elig, and Diana Evans; from 307, Henry

AS JUNIORS LEAD SOPHOMORES, SENIORS

Hartman and Al Hattaway. Representative from room 4 is Ruth Hunt, while Judy Kellett and Nancy Lambeth come from 303. Jane McLennan, Gary Mas-sel, Jim Phillips, and James Spence are special students from 300, 306, 3, and 13, respectively. Room 8's specials are Florence Weaver, Kay Weston, and Joan Weinstein, and room 313's are Kay Wood and Pollyann Young. Room 23's Representation

### Room 23's Representatives

Room 23's Representatives Mary Lee Adams, Helen Allen, Brenda Alvis, and Anne Baldwin, room 206, are juniors making spec-ial. Others are Brenda Borders and Denny Broadhurst, 201A; Janet Coble and Cohnie Coltrane, room 5; Peggy Earle, 14; and Joanne Horne and Meyressa Hughes, 301. Robert Johnson and Charles King represent room 201M, and Fraqces McCormick and Lynn Mc-Gregor are from 317. Coming from 23 are Carolyn Manuel, Jean Me-dearis, and Rhoda Miller, and Betty Rose is the special student from room 9.

## Sue Levine To Edit WHIRLIGIG During 1957-58; Hewett, Sink Head Business Staff Of Yearbook

International of the staff of the light of the light of the light of the light will be attending Duke University and announced by Miss Virginia ing the staff as editor-in-chief.



managing editor

Nancy Hewett, who is now Jun-

ior Class editor, will serve with Sue as business manager and Peg-gy Sink, rising senior, as assistant

gy Sink, rising senior, as assistant business manager. Managing Editor The posts of managing editor and literary editor will be filled by aFt Howell and Angelyn stokes. respectively. Other positions were named as follows: engraving editor. Many

Work Begun On Next Year's Annual

dra is the first girl ever to be chosen for this office.

# O'Brien, out-going president, San-