

Volume XLIX, No. VII

Grimsley High School Greensboro, N.C. 27408

Five Are Semi-finalists For NMSC

Five Grimsley seniors are semi-finalists for the National Merit Scholarship Corporation's Special Scholarships. The semi-finalists and sponors are the following: Ted Goldman, Bache Corporation Foundation; Betty Jean Poore and Mary Symmes, Cone Mills; Amy Welborn, Loews Corporation; and Doug Smith, Burndy.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation administers special scholarships through its Merit Program for corporate sponsors that award a certain number of four-year scholarships a year. These sponsors usually specify the scholarships for the children of their employees.

The sponsors forward applications to the National Merit Scholarshiip Corporation. Winners are then selected by the N.M.S.C. committee that reviews the applications and records of the students. The winners are announced by the sponsors, not the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.



All-State Band members from Grimsley

All-State Band Selected

The 1975 edition of the GHS All-State Band has been chosen. Fifty-nine of the 72 Whirlie band members who tried out were succesful. Each musician who attempted to make the band was required to play six major scales, the chromatic scale, a prepared solo, and a sight-reading piece.

Contestants traveled to Burlington Williams High School, where two judges graded each hopeful, on December 1. The members of the band performed in a concert with the "A" Band being directed by Mr. Dale Grabel from Georgia and the "B" Band will be directed by Mr. Joseph Secrest from Wilkesboro Central High School in North Wilkesboro. The concert was held at three o'clock, Sunday, February 9 in Asheboro.

All-State[•] band members from Grimsley include the following:

Rick Andrews, Chuck Alston, Vangie Barlow, Ellen Bullington, Jay Baum, David Buster, Missy Crain, Carney Clegg, Susan Carter, Stephanie Decker, Marian Daily, Joe Essa, John Foy, Bill Duncan, Joyce Hagar, Janice

Eberhart, Betty Jean Poore, Susie Keen, Elliot Shoenthall, Cynthia Morrah, Amv Vaughn, Nina McCloskey, Maurine Long, Amy Welborn, Susan Task, Jeff Peraldo, Steve Neiditz, Glenda Small, Doug Smith, Mike Evans, Mary Symmes, Jean Powell, Michelle Rhodes, Phil Kaldon, Allen Wagoner, Gary Ritter, Jack Wilkins, Anne Ingram, Lisa Prago, Drew Williams, Mary Alice Kritzer, Doug Smith, Joey Steel, Bill Vincent, Ed Hendrickson, Holt Mebane, Jimmy Symmes, John Manley, Marty Steele, Ed Spears, Brad Williams, Gene Sanders, Tim Tobin, Bernie Hall, , Steve Turner, Bob Reeves, and Allen Gillespie

February 14, 1975

Prom, Pageant Highlight Council Plans

Executive Council has continued to consider projects for the near future.

During the last part of January, the Council was involved with Student Govvernment Week. Each member of the Council was assigned to several homerooms, where he discussed the new Constitution, answered questions, reviewed earlier projects, and noted suggesttions.

David Kennett will be in charge of the Executive Council's money-making project, the Book Fair, which is scheduled from March 11-14 in room 522.

Bob Howerton has been working with the senior class project, the Womanless Beauty Pageant to be held April 10. Organizations wishing to sponsor a contestant should see Bob and pay \$5 entry fee.

In other committee projects, YRC has planned a Twerp Dance for February 21. The band will be Fresh Water Stadium and the price of tickets is \$4 per couple.

A garage sale will be planned for the spring in order to raise money for the Junior class. Brad Osborne is securing plans for the prom to be held May 17.

Journalists Attend Workshop at UNC-G

Over one hundred high school students of the Piedmont area, including nine from Grimsley, attended the fourth annual Journalism Workshop on January 25, at Elliott University Center, UNC-G.

The purpose of the workshop was to give prospective journalists a chance to talk with professionals in the field. The

News Briefs

Greensboro-News Company, The Society of Professional Journalists (Sigma Delta Chi), the Greensboro Youth Council and UNC-G were sponsors.

Morning and afternoon sessions featured programs in news writing public relations, sports writing, editorial writing, cartooning, headline writing, photography, advertising, and radio and television.

At a luncheon press conference Rep. Henry E.



Auditions for the Teenage Talent Show, sponsored by the Greensboro Youth Council and the Knights of Columbus, will begin on February 22. Anyone interested in being a contestant contact GYC's office at 501 Yanceyville Street, 373--2174.

There will be a PTSA meeting on February 17.

Mrs. Parker returned to schoool on February 12. She had a baby girl in December. Congratulations, Mrs. Parker.

Congratulations to Mrs. Gillespie and Mrs. Dalton. Mrs. Gillespie was awarded the Ben L. Smith Teacher of the Year Award. Mrs. Dalton was awarded the Outstanding Young Educator Award.

Congratulations to Bill Silkworth and Judy Marks, January's students of the Month, sponsored by GYC. Frye, Chairman of the Guilford County delegation in the N.C. House was the primary speaker.

Asked whether the compulsory school age should be lowered, Mr. Frye was frank in admitting that he was unsure of the proper action but added, "The answer I think lies in the alternative schools like the ones in Greensboro."

Rep. Frye, dissatisfied with the federal action proposed by President Ford suggested an interest subsidy for low- and middle- income families as a way North Carolina could help its own housing slump.

Among other topics, Rep. Frye also defended position on abolishing capital punishment, a landlord-tenant bill, and prison reform. Quill and Scroll honors these students for their journalistic ability. Quilland Scroll Members Inducted

Quill and Scroll, the International Honorary Society for High School Journalists, was founded at the University of Iowa in 1926 by a group of teachers of journalism who wished to recognize and to reward worthy high school journalists.

On January 9, a ceremony was held for the induction of the new Quill and Scroll members.

The following seven students from **High Life** were inducted: Dwight Ferguson, Beth Magee, Cynthia White, Sandi Wimbish, Andrew Herman, Joey Pearlman and David Kennett.

The following are the officers of this chapter and also the 12 students selected from Whirligig: President, Janet Lassiter; treasurer, Amy Fickling; vice-president, Philip Kaldon, and secretary, Marty Knox. Other members include Jimmy Lederer, Ted Shields, Paul Stang, Dalya Kutchei, Marianne Marks, Bobbi Knox, Lydia Duhan, and Linda Essa.

Requirements to be a

member of Quill and Scroll are to be a Junior or Senior, have worked one semester on either High Life or Whirligig, be in the upper one-third of his class, and have shown superior work in journalism. The students must be highly recommended by three teachers and the co-advisors, Ms. Enis and Ms. Morton, in addition to being approved by a review board composed of Ms. Morton, Ms. Enis, Ms. Moody, and Mr. Ballance. Then, the National Executive Secretary approves him.