

Thursday, May 28, 1992

Grimsley High School Greensboro, N.C.

Volume LXVII, Number 10



Student Council candidates eagerly await results

GHS 1992-93 Student Council Student Body

Officers

President: Lee Anderson Vice-President: Nate Meyer Secretary: Heather Munoz Treasurer: Laura Walters Pep Board: Dana Lanier YRC Chairman: Cara Morris

Junior Class

Officers

President: Cheryse McLeod Vice President: Matt McKinney Sec/Treasurer: Gretchen Spangler Pep Board: Meredith Wood YRC Chairman: Lindsay Sikes

Senior Class

Officers

President: Chris Walker Vice-President: Leo Rand Sec/Treasurer: Anastasha Tate Pep Board: Emily Pifer YRC Chairman: Lauren Satine

Sophomore Class Officers

President: Malika Roman Vice-President: Kimberly Gray Sec/Treasurer: Nicole Leadbetter Pep Board: Civia Lieb YRC Chairman: Tommy Ross

Debate team conquers at state competition

By Brian Dimmick

The Grimsley debate team recently concluded its first season with an outstanding performance at the state tournament, held April 3-4 at T. Wingate Andrews High School in High Point . The team won the TFL State Championship Debate Sweepstakes, which is awarded to the team which performed the best in policy and Lincoln-Douglas debate.

In the category of novice policy debate, Grimsley's three teams all did very well. The team of Mandy Fields and Mike Fogarty reached the semi-finals of the competition, as did the team of Kerri Knight and Joe McCullough. In addition, the team of Sara Fuller and Nick Rojeski reached the quarterfinals. Mandy Fields won the first place speaker award. Two-person teams compete in policy debate, which relies heavily on facts and evidence. The topic of policy debate for the 1991-92 year was aid to the homeless.

In Lincoln-Douglas debate, Jaya Kasibhatla finished second and Matt Williams reached the quarterfinals. Kasibhatla also won the first place speaker award in this event. Individuals compete in Lincoln-Douglas debate, which centers on philosophical and ethical arguments rather than concrete evidence.

Fatimah Boone reached the semifinals in the extemporaneous speaking competition. In this event,

students choose a topic from among three choices, write and deliver from memory a speech on the topic. A time limit of 30 minutes is set for preparing the speech.

The debate team held their 1991-92 awards banquet on April 28 at the Regency apartment complex clubhouse. At the banquet, certificates and awardswerepresented to team members who had competed in tournaments during the year. In addition, the team presented Most the Outstanding Team Member award to Jaya Kasibhatla and the Most Improved Team Member award to Kerri Knight. The team is also making plans for the 1992-93 school year, during which they hope to out-of-state attend competitions in addition to statewide tournaments. The team also elected officers for the 1992-93 year. Java Kasibhatla will serve as president for the

second consecutive year, while Mandy Fields was elected vice president and Joe McCullough treasurer.

Finally, the team is still looking for a source of funding for the upcoming school year. A presentation was made at the March school board meeting requesting funding from the Greensboro Public Schools, but no decision has yet been made on such funding.



Win Bertrand

Yen Nguyen