

Oxford Orphanage alumni at their annual meeting at the Orphanage October 10, elected the above officers. They are Mrs. Jennie Ellis Mintz, left, of Leland, president; William H. Stuart, Elkin, vice president; Mrs. Jeanne Sizemore, Oxford, secretary, front, and standing, Allen Colenda, Oxford, treasurer; Mrs. Betty Jean Johnson, Kinston, and Jim Adams, Alexandria, Va., directors.

## Orphanage Alumni Hold Annual Meeting Oct. 9-10

The old grads came back to the campus of Oxford Orphanage on October 9 and 10 for the annual meeting of the Alumni Association. Highlights of the 1971 meeting included a barbecue dinner, entertainment at the York Rite Chapel, a dance at the Creasy K. Proctor Gymnasium, and the annual business meeting.

Orphanage Chaplain Henry Flowers greeted the group on behalf of the Orphanage and Superintendent A. D. Leon Gray. "You are a fine representation of this institution," Flowers told the Association members.

Association Treasurer Allen Colenda read a letter from Superintendent Gray expressing appreciation for the alumni contribution of \$5,485.00 during the past year, an increase over the previous year's giving. Alumni contributions are made through the Loyalty Club for whatever use the Orphanage administration deems necessary.

Superintendent Gray, out of the country at the time of the meeting, in his letter expressed hopes for a happy reunion and said the administration is endeavoring to preserve the life and activities dear to the hearts of all the alumni and all others concerned with the Or-

In addition to the contribution to the Orphanage, the Alumni this year presented a 27" color television and helped purchase a new outboard motor as a retirement gift to former Assistant Superintendent E. T. Regan, who retired last summer.

Mrs. Jennie Mintz of Leland was elected president of the Association for the coming year. Other officers were William H. (Pete) Stuart of Elkin, vice president; Mrs. Jeanne Sizemore of Oxford, secretary; Allen Colenda mittee to represent the Association in support of Oxford, treasurer; and Mrs. Betty Jean of plans for the Oxford Orphanage Centennial, Johnson of Kinston, Jim Adams of Alexandria, coming up in 1973.

## Deaths Reported To The **Grand Secretary's Office**

618-J. Bain Greene

634-George M. Long 667—Davis E. Fowler

460—Gilmer A. Dula

460-Raleigh A. McCraw

646-Charles Vance Averette

276—Lance Joseph Baker

146-Robert H. Dockery

446—William B. Pressley

543—William C. Smith

729—Felix A. Boyer

729—Lonnie E. Croom

1-Hanke C. Borneman

1-Albert D. Byrd

1—Clarence E. Hill 627—George P. Caldwell

462—Benjamin Harrison Waters

733—Hobert Uriah Justice, Jr.

381-William Stanford Huntley 8-Benjamin F. Sorgee

95—Emmitt E. Nethercutt

294-D. V. Bishop

359-John Luther Dixon, Sr.

429—Simeon L. Kear

576-Robert L. Canup

672—William McKinley Anderson 602-George N. Williams

198-Ira O. Schaub, Sr.

253—Benton C. Allen

284—Clarence Vincent

301—Kenny Taylor

408—Robert L. Miller

83-Leonard L. Wilson

679—Neil E. Thagard

109—Wayland G. Gillikin

302-James Kenneth Faucette

499—William Howard Chappell

703—Junious Murray Suggs

484—Karl Edward Schweinfurth 405-Benjamin Franklin Royal

381—Russell Eugene Long

113-William Walton Allgood

99—Curtis Leroy Wyatt

40—Lemuel B. Ivey

40—Dewey E. Lloyd

40—Powell G. Fox

40—Robert E. Lee Sessoms

328-Carroll M. Hodges

339—Thomas Woodrow Grayson

525—Otha Clarence Holland

678—Floyd E. Cohoon 198—Excell Phillips

427—Jay Lawrence Woody

5—Thomas J. Harrell

32—Elbert Leander Lowie

261—William Armfield Worrell

261—Arthur McLees Henderson

420—Jessie Erskin McEwen 530—Pascal Charles Hinson

530—John Bryan Rudisill

114-Adrian Mortimer Britt, Jr.

439—Roy Lee Raxter

403-Richard Arthur Lineberry

45—Eugene Houston Fritts

171—William H. Farless, Sr.

459—Delos Dexter Hooper, Jr.

472—John NMN Harouff

Va., and Louis Autry of Richmond, Va., di-

In other business a new committee was appointed to deal with staff retirements and Jim Adams was reappointed chairman of the com-

## **Cannon Memorial Makes** Awards to 29 at Banquet

BY JOHN Q. BENTON, Secretary

Cannon Memorial Lodge No. 626, A. F. & A. M. has planned their annual banquet and Ladies Night for Saturday evening November 6 at 7:00 o'clock. It will be held at the Midway Methodist Church Fellowship Hall.

A very interesting and entertaining program has been and is being planned and Service Award certificates will be presented to two 50 year members and 27 twenty-five year members. The fifty year members are Sank S. McCoy and Lonnie C. Shields. Both these men have been Masons for fifty years or more

without break in their membership.

The twenty seven members to receive twenty five year certificates are: James A. Adams Jr., C. Eugene Avant, H. Blair Bonds, Leonard E. Brackett, Dow N. Brinkley, Olin C. Brooks, George M. Cobb Jr., John H. Davis, Bernard L. Dayvault, Clarence R. Dellinger, Garvell C. Denny, Lee Roy Fox, James A. Harris Jr., J. Ralph Hoke Jr., Louis W. Jenkins, Leonard E. Keever, Robert L. Ketchie, Randolph P. Lapish, Gerry J. Lyerly, Everette R. McKinley, -Robert D. Moore, John H. Robinson, Franklin L. Seagle, Paul H. Seagraves, A. Ray Sherrill, Coy L. Sills, and Evans S. Tur-

The fifty year awards will be presented by W. L. Mills Jr., who is Junior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of North Carolina and the twenty five year certificates will be presented by Luther H. Walker who is District Deputy Grand Master of the 43rd Masonic District of North Carolina.

This will be the fifty fifth anniversary of the Lodge, it having been chartered in 1916.

552—John William Anderson

554—Buster B. Ollis

656—Earl Mellville Davis

665—Arthur Erwin Patton

702—Charlie Davidson Keith

13—Roscoe Whitman

53—Elroy Clifton Pugh

118—Alvah Pearce 118—James Westall

118-Charles C. Ricker

172—Claude Berlin Chandler

259—Roy Christoper Reese

674—Charles Edward Geilker Sowden

688—Frazier Edgar Phillips

76—George Richard Bennett

284—Maxie Durant Rogers, Jr.

495—David Cavomess McNeill

676—Fred Jennings Kerr

676—Houston Gary N. Kinard 519—R. Leslie Towe

519—Robert M. Pope

519—Harvey W. Taylor

81-Carol Wayne Meadows

556—Ermon Hawley Godwin

617—W. P. Holt 97—Claude Berry Ferrell

384-Richard C. Booker

188-W. Hubert Grimes

218-Irvin Kester Poole

431—Robie Daniel Porter

459—Raymond Loop Glenn, Sr.

498—Anson W. Sawyer

515—Tyree Heath Kiser

500—Joseph Summerell Correll

516—Frank Guttu

(Continued on Page Seven)