Page 12, The Carolina Indian Voice - Thursday, October 11, 1984



The Newly Elected Officers of NAPA

Left to right: Publisher of the Navajo Times Today, Loren Tapahe, Vice President; Editor of the Jicarilla Chieftain, Mary Polanco, Treasurer; Editor of the Native American Rights Fund Newsletter, Anita Austin, Secretary; Publisher of the Lakota Times, Tim Giago, President.

Native American Press Association Will Incorporate In Washington

TUSKAHOMA, Okla. - The fifteen member Board of Directors of the Native American Press Association met at the capitol of the Choctaw Nation and formally adopted their constitution and articles of incorporation. The group, which will be incorporated in the District of Columbia, also selected officers who will serve two year terms

Officers selected at the August 26 meeting were Tim Giago, publisher of the Lakota Times of the Pine Ridge Reservation as President; Loren Tapahe, publisher of the Navajo Times as Vice-President; Anita Austin, editor of the Coloradobased Native American Rights Fund Newsletter as Secretary; and Mary Polanco, editor of the Jicarilla Apache Chieftain as Freasurer.

The Native American Press Association (NAPA) will seek to develop and improve communications between Indian people and between Indians and the non-Indian public. It will promote the highest standards in professional journalism and will promote the exchange of

news, ideas, and experiences through technical assistance among members in print journalism in America.

In a strong show of Indian unity, the Board of Directors agreed that the Native' American Press Association would assist and encourage member newspapers by holding workshops in financing and advertising, photography, legal matters, and would provide a strong link between the general public newspapers and the Indian press.

2

S

R

ß

in the association

FRANCES M. CUMMINGS AND JOHN I. WILSON were the recipients of recognition awards from the NCAE Indian Caucus and the NEA American Indian/Alaskan Native Caucus. The awards were presented by Agnes Chavis, at-large NCAE Board member, at the Summer Leadership Development Institute.

Wilson, a member of the NEA Executive Committee, received an award from the caucuses for "getting the first Indian from North Carolina involved in NEA," Chavis said.

Cummings, immediate past president of NCAE and an NEA director, received her award for appointing more Indians to NCAE committees and commissions than any other association president.

Chavis said, "Both Cummings and Wilson continue to make sure the NCAE and NEA budgets reflect money and programs for specific Indian involvement.'

Chavis has served on the NEA Board of Directors as an at-large member. She completed a one-year term as secretary of the NEA Indian Caucus this year.

Rose Marie Lowry will serve as chairperson of the NEA Caucus this year. She served as chair-elect for the past year.

John I. Wilson, NEA executive committee member

and a past president of NCAE was presented a recogni-

tion award from the NCAE Indian Caucus and the NEA

American Indian/Alaskan Native Caucus by Agnes

Chavis, at-large NCAE Board member. The award was

given at the NCAE Summer Leadership Development

Institute in Wilmington. The same award was also given

to NCAE Past President Frances Cummings.



Entertainers for the Oct. 1st 'Strike at the Wind' Fundraising dinner were: Lee Pam Oxendine, Miss Lambee and Willie Lowery. [Elmer W. Hunt photo]



Also entertaining the supporters of 'Strike at the Wind' at Sheff's in Pembroke was the ever popular local group, Lumbee Pride, featuring the sensational Sally Lowry Norris, shown above with Carnell Locklear, general manager of 'Strike at the Wind!'



Minority Leaders talk to Joe Martin, brother of Jim Martin, at organization meeting in Fayetteville

75 Named to Council On Minority Affairs

ville Mayor Pro-Tempore Aaron Johnson and Elizabethtown City Councilwoman Ester Huntley have been named co-chairpersons of the Statewide Advisory Council for the gubernatorial campaign of Jim Martin.

They will head a 75-member committee seeking minority support for the candidacy of Congressman Martin.

Martin addressed the group by conference telephone at its meeting Wednesday in Fayetteville. His personal appearance was cancelled when he returned to Washington to take part in floor debate and votes in the House of Representatives,

In addition to Reverend Johnson and Mrs. Ester Huntley, members of the council include:

Rudditt Alexander of Durham, Frank Anderson of Durham, Freddie Anderson of Durham, the Rev. W. E. Banks of First Baptist Church of Thomasville, Ronald Barbee of Greensboro, the Rev. Frederick Bass of Mt. Vernon Baptist of High Point.

Richard L. Bishop of Fayetteville, Otis Blackmon of Fayetteville, Robert J. Brown of High Point, Carl Byrd of Wilmington. the Rev. Angela Carvana of Piney Grove A.M.E. of Cary, the Rev. Dr. Harold J. Cobb, Sr.

The Rev. Harold Cobb, Jr. of Good Samaritan Baptist Church of Durham, Sylvia Cole of Raleigh, Ms. Queen Costen of Willard, J. Harold Davis of Raleigh, Frances Dyer of Durham, Carlton Fellers of Raleigh.

Vivian Fuse of Fayetteville, Nathan Garrett' of Durham, Patricia Gill of Fayetteville. Cicero Green of Durham, Malachi Green of Charlotte, John Hawkins of Warrenton, the Rev. J. A. Hemby of Woods Chapel of Graham.

Larnie G. Horton of Raleigh. Albert Huey of Durham, Edward

FAYETTEVILLE - Fayette- Jenkins of Greensboro, Lafayette Jones of Winston-Salem, Leon Kay of Winston-Salem, James Lassiter of Winston-Salem, J. Kenneth Lee of Greensboro.

Robert Linton of Greensboro, Janie Locklear of Pembroke, Miriam Pollard of Moncure, Larry Linney of Durham, Jim Mack of Winston-Salem, Roosevelt Maske of Mint Hill, William McCloud of Durham.

The Rev. Willie McGee of Winston-Salem, the Rev. J. T. McMillan of Mt. Zion AME Church of Winston-Salem, Otis Micheal of Asheville, the Rev. Leroy Miller of Lincolnville AME Church, Dr. Lee Monroe of Raleigh, the Rev. Artis Plummer of Hardee Grove Missionary Baptist Church of Oxford.

Donald Pollard of Kinston, Dr. Emory Rann of Charlotte, Dr. Emory Rann III of Greensboro, Lonnie Revels of Greensboro, Dr. Joseph Roberts of Charlotte, Hubert Robinson of Greensboro.

Vernon Robinson of Winston-Salem, Jim Ross of Charlotte, the Rev. James Sheares of St. Paul's AME Church of Raleigh, Dwight Simpson of New Bern, Willie Simpson Jr. of New Bern.

James W. Smith of, Southport, Asa T. Spaulding Jr. of Durham, Leon Stainback of Greensboro, David Stith of Greensboro, Jeffrey Swindell of New Bern, A. J. Turner of Raleigh.

F. N. Waden of High Point, Dr. Jewett Walker of Charlotte, Jean Webber of Charlotte, the Rev. Leon White, Fred Whitted of Fayette-ville, the Rev. J. B. Wilder of St. James AME Church of Raleigh.

Sylvania Wilkerson of Goldsboro, the Rev. Levi Brown Jr. of Bethel Greater AME Church of Charlotte, Charles Henry of Southport, Aremta Eaton of Louisburg, Claudia Simpson of Fayetteville. Mary Luris of Fayetic ville.

Press **IATIONAL JEWSPAPER** I WEEK PER ME A Free Press: cracy's First De **293 Years of Democracy** in Action

Ever since the first newspaper was published back in 1690, Americans have been enjoying the privilege of a free and unbiased press. Our high journalistic standards have been an important part of our democratic system, as our 'right to know' allows us all to speak out, to agree or disagree and to be informed about the very issues that influence our nation and the world.

