ENTERED AS SECOND-CLASS MATTER AUGUST 20, 1928, AT THE POSTOFFICE AT TRYON, N. C. UNDER THE ACT OF CONGRESS, MARCH 3, 1879

THE TRYON DAILY BULLETIN

(The World's Smallest Daily Newspaper) LC PER COPY 1c PER COPY SETH M. VINING, EDITOR \$1.50 Year in the Carolinas

Vol. 14, Est. 1-31-28 TRYON, N. C., TUESDAY, APRIL 8, 1941

Hospital Donors

All committees haven't reported and there are friends out-oftown who usually contribute to the hospital who are yet to be eard from, but new members of St. Luke's hospital association who have not been reported are: Mrs. Margaret Culkin Banning (Duluth). Mr. and Mrs. C. N. Sayre. Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Stevens. C. M. Foster. J. S. Arledge. Miss Ruth Andrews. Mrs. F. W. Sprague. Samuel Bingham, Jr. (Nashville). Mrs. John C. Slocumb. Mrs. Joel Stockard. Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Kilpin. Mrs. Clara Brand. Mr. and Mrs. E. G. Vollmer. Walter Cantrell. Mrs. Samuel Woody. Rev. Chas. G. Sewall. Miss Matilda Giles. Donations may be sent to B. L. allenger, the treasurer, to St. Luke's hospital, Tryon Bank & Trust Co., or to the Bulletin office.

Missildine Announces For Re-Election

Mayor E. E. Missildine is the first candidate to announce for office in the municipal election to be held on May 6th. His formal announcement for mayor of Town of Tryon appears in today's issue of the Builetin. So far no campaign issues have developed.

This is Clean-Up Week.

Polk County Soldiers Leave For Fort Jackson

Chairman Julian B. Hester of the Polk County Draft Board reports that the following Polk County men selected from the draft list left Monday morning for Fort Jackson for induction into the Army service:

No. 373-A—Jessie Shehan, R. F. D. No. 1, Mill Spring.

No. 68-John Norman Elliott. R. F. D. No. 1, Mill Spring. No. 74-Waldon Green, R. F.

No. 14—waldon Green, R. F.
D. No. 1, Mill Spring.
No. 146—Lewie Bull Willis,
R. F. D. No. 1, Saluda.
No. 152—John Clarence Thomp-

son, Columbus.

No. 168—Gaither Thompson, R. F. D. No. 1, Mill Spring.

No. 180-Lawrence McQueen Summey, R. F. D. No. 1, Saluda. No. 183-Joseph Gillespie Walker, Mill Spring.

Trowbridge Elected Rotary President

New officers for the Tryon Rotary Club effective July 1 have been elected as follows: James R. Trowbridge, president; Dudley C. Smith, vice-president; W. E. Kilpin, secretary-treasurer.

Delegates elected to the Rotary district convention to meet at Camden, S. C., on April 20-21 are F. P. Bacon and the present president, B. G. Henry. Other members of the club are expected to attend.

The Bingo Party tonight at Oak Hall Hotel for the benefit of the British War Relief. Public invited.