ENTERED AS SECOND CLASS MATTER AUGUST 20, 1928, AT THE POSTOFFICE AT TRYON, N. C. UNDER THE ACT OF CONGRESS, MARCH 3, 1879

THE TRYON DAILY BULLETIN

The World's Smallest DAILY Newspaper.

Seth M. Vining, Editor

Vol. 25-No. 325 TRYON, N. C. WEDNESDAY, JAN. 21, 1953



Weather Tuesday: High 65, low 32, Rel. Hum. 65 . . . Today's headlines feature the inauguration of President Eisenhower who accepted the responsibilities of the office with a prayer on his lips. He pledged his best efforts to build and unify the strength of the free world for peace, and called on Americans to make whatever sacrifices may be required. He said, "We shall never try to placate an aggressor by false and wicked hargain or trading honor for security." Millions of people all over the United States saw the inauguration on television sets and the 5-hour parade which followed. In von a large group assembled at Ak Hall to see it over the hotel's big 24-inch set. In the Tryon school the school children saw it through courtesy of Hill's Radio and Television Service. Ballenger's had a group, and B. Frank Carruth in Landrum, and in homes throughout this section. South Carolina and North Carolina both had floats in the parade which depicted the resources of the region. It was a grand occasion and a good boost for the Democratic way of life No dupicate bridge this Thursday. Only once a month now, the Master Point night, every third

Thursday in the month . . . A voice

over the phone this morning, said,

.... Continued On Back Page

Congregational Officers

At the annual meeting of the Congregational Church of Christ the following officers were elected:

E. A. Turner, treasurer; Miss Eunice Kirtland, clerk; Craig Furr and Fred Swann, deacons to serve with holdovers B. B. Flynn, Seth M. Vining, John L. Brown and Carroll P. Rogers.

R. R. Williams and Baxter Haynes were elected trustees to serve with holdovers Emil Hinrichs, Nelson Jackson, Fred Placak and A. R. Ford.

John L. Brown we elected Sunday school superimendent and Elbert H. Arledge, assistant.

Board of ushers, Wofford Foster, chairman: Gaden Corpening, Gay Corpening, Harold Warring-Seth M. Vining Jr., Clyde Pittman. Bash McCallister, Brank Proffitt.

Auditor, Emil Hinrichs.

Music committee, T. J. Hair, chairman: Mrs. E. A. Turner, Mrs. John Washburn, Mrs. Nelson Jackson II, Mrs. Wofford Foster, Holland Brady Jr.

Other church officers who help form the Church Council include J. T. Arledge, president of the Fellowship group: W. H. McDonald, president of the Christian Laymen and Mrs. Willard Young, president of the Women's Society.

Rev. Orville H. White is the pastor and moderator.

HOSPITAL NEWS

Mr. and Mrs. Grady Pate of Landrum are parents of a son born January 20th, at 8:58 p. m. Robert Fant of Tryon is a patient.

Discharges include Mrs. John N. Williams of Columbus and Mrs. Faye Gordon.