About the Cover

Women of the Year

- 1982 Virginia Newell
- 1983 Norma Smith
- 1984 Elwanda Ingram
- 1985 Louise Wilson (deceased)
- 1986 Martha Wood
- 1987 Bessie Allen (deceased)
- 1988 Mazie Woodruff (deceased)
- 1989 Annie Brown Kennedy
- 1990 D Smith
- 1991 Irene Hairston
- 1992 Maya Angelou
- . 1993 Dorothy Graham-Wheeler and Loretta Biggs
- 1994 Vivian Turner
- 1995 Vivian Burke
- 1996 Geneva Brown
- 1997 Joycelyn Johnson
- 1998 Mütter Evans
- 1999 Mosé Belton-Brown
- 2000 Addie Hymes
- 2001 Sylvia Flack
- 2002 Brenda Diggs

Men of the Year

- 1982 Larry Little
- 1983 Clifton Graves
- 1984 Patrick Hairston
- 1985 Larry Womble
- 1986 Walter Marshall
- · 1987 Carlton Eversley
- 1988 Isaiah Tidwell
- . 1989 Lester Ervin (deceased)
- 1990 James Grace
- 1991 Ben Ruffin
- 1992 Ben Piggott
- 1993 John Mendez
- · 1994 William Brandon
- 1995 Mickey Muhammad
- 1996 Sheldon McCarter
- 1997 Seth O. Lartev
- 1998 Marshall Bass
- 1999 Charles Kennedy
- · 2000 Harold Martin
- · 2001 J.C. Hash
- •2002 Allen Joines

A Message from Selection Committee chairman



Nigel Alston

We are fortunate to have a dedicated group of people, who are knowledgeable about the community, to make up the committee that helpg select those people to be honored at the Chronicle Community Awards Banquet each year. The committee is a diverse group in gender, age and ethnicity and includes past honorees, corporate sponsor representatives and community volunteers. The committee sifts through the nominations received by Chronicle readers and recommends others who may have been overlooked.

The committee strives to select a diverse group of people each year to be honored. This year, as you will read, honorees represent various segments of the community, from grassroots to professional; black, white and Hispanic; young and old. The result of the work of the committee, its recommendations, is reflected in the significant attendance each year of people throughout the community. A deliberate, conscious effort is made to be inclusive, recognizing the importance of diversity in our community and focusing on the impact within the African-American community specifically.

- Nigel Alston, GMAC

Committee Members

- Vivian Turner former Woman of the Year/ R.J. Reynolds
- Florence Corpening YWCA
- Ernie Wade Ernie Wade & Associates
 - Peggy Carter Sara Lee Corp.
 - Catherine Lough Wachovia Corp.
 - Annette Scippio Leadership Winston-Salem
 - T. Kevin Walker The Chronicle