outstanding honorees will ad UNCC in the fall. \$500 scholarship was d to the seniors for their anding achievements, activi-and academic performances, and Thomas of Independence of School is the daughter of Mr. Mrs. Rev. John Thomas of verde Lane. She is a member of

the Spanish Club, Keyettes, NAACP, Squad Leader of the Law Enforcement Explorer Post 247, American Field Services (AFS), Governor's Page, Who's Who, and color guard. Through her activities she holds a 3.3 average, Thomas plans to major in Criminal Justice and minor in Spanish.

"I'm very proud of myself and I am still holding on to the progress. Hang on to your goals. If at all possible don't let anything stop you to reach your goals," states

Lorna Brown holds a 3.4 average and is a member of the Ambas-sador Service Club, co-president of Tri-M, president of the Future Business Leaders of America, Office Occupation, Inner Club Coun-selor, and Orchestra. While at NCCU, Brown will atudy accounting. "I am going to college to not only to achieve higher education endeavors, but also achieve the goals to help others help as well as yourself," expresses Brown. She attends West Charlotte High

Myers Park recipient Trinitia Harrison is a 4.13 average student and the daughter of Mrs. Shirley Harrison. She is an active member in the Keyettes, the student council, National Honor Society and volley-ball team, United Volleyball Asso-ciation and Who's Who honoree.



Trinitia HarrisonWho's Who honoree

Lorna BrownTo help others



Jonquil Thomas Hanging on to goals

Church News Briefs

Continued From Page 6A Earth." Its theme for the "Night of Missions" is "Hotlines to Missions: Faith and Action."

C.N. JENKINS

With the theme, "We care and We will Share" the Acolytes of C. N. Jenkins Memorial Presbyterian Church joined in the Hands Across Charlotte project recently.

From their purchases of tickets and T-shirts, the Acolytes contributed \$170 to the program.

C. N. Jenkins has 20 active Acolytes ranging in age from six to 12 years old. They have been con-tinuously involved in programs to help others

Acolytes who participated in the

Hands Across Charlotte project were: Sanithia Alexander, Erica Anderson, Aisha Dew, Mori Boyce, Shari Brandon, Jajuana Moonie, Jeffery Moonie Jr., Shavonna McClure, Belgie McCleland II, LaQuon Huntley, LaShon Huntley, Christie Stancil and pastor of C. N. Jenkins, Rev. George C. Goodman.

> Support Our **Advertisers**

> > Set of 4

SUPPORT OUR ADVERTISERS

OPENING!

9147 Trinity Road

394-6968

Off Beatties Ford Rd. At Hornets Nest Park CROAKER **FLOUNDER**

SHRIMP **SCALLOPS OYSTERS** CLAMS

We Also Carry A Wide Variety Of Cooking Accessories

from the N.C. Coast — Tues.-Sat. 10-8

Trinity Sandwich & PAR Shop

9141 Trinity Road 393-7681

Breakfast - Lunch - Dinner

Wide Selection

TROUT

BASS

of Sandwiches

and

Dinners

Mon-Thurs 8am-10pm Fri&Sat 8am-12pm

Aisha Raylor, the daughter of Robert and Sheila Taylor, was recently crowned Little Miss Las Amigas 1966 during the pageant. Aisha is a student at Dilworth Elementary School. She enjoys biking and dancing.

Northwest Babe Ruth

The game of baseball continued in the Northwest Babe Ruth League last Saturday with the opening of the ast Saturday with the opening of the 13-15 age boys' season. In the action at Revolution Field, the Cardinals nipped West Charlotte Optimist, 4-3, while the Royals' boys out-scored West Trade boys, 15-3.

Baseball in the Bambino Division highlighted West Charlotte defeating Plaza No. 2, 10.5 at Priceposition

ing Plaza No. 2, 10-6, at Briarwood School and the Royals out batted McCrorey YMCA, 18-2, at Revolu-tion Field.

GREAT BARGAINS! EACH WEEK IN

TOP IN TO SEE THE THE POST

GEST SELECTION of wheels in town! Queen City Tire & Wheel 1220 South Tryon St. 377-3333 Mon-Fri 7:30-6 Sat 8-5:30 *165/SR13

REFE

Steel Belted Radials

We endorse Arthur Griffin for the Charlotte - Mecklenburg School Board. Arthur is committed to quality, desegrated education for all children. He has experience as an incumbent and has proven to be a diligent worker. Join us on June 3, 1986 in

returning Arthur Griffin to the School Board.

Mary Campbell Martin Dorothy W. Warr T.R. Wall Anna and Calvin Hood
Vivian Ross Nivens
Shirley A. Johnson
Sarah B. Stevenson
Rep. Howard C. Barnhill
Hattie B. Ardrey
Deborah Lee Gates
Patricia A. Lloyd
Eugene Marsh Patricia A. Lloyd
Eugene Marsh
L.C. Coleman
Larry King
Titus L. Ivory
Carlenia G. Ivory
Horace Blount
Louise Hicks
Rev. Bernard Sullivan
Nasif and Salimah Majeed
Jacqueline Edwards
Dr. E. E. Waddell
Ron and Phyllis Leeper
Sandy Welton

Ron and Phyllis Leeper
Sandy Welton
Dr. Iris Carlton LaNey
Raqueeb and Anita Albaari
Tawana B. Wilson
Susan Lindsay
Marjorie Storch
Linwood O. Foust
Dr. Bertha Maxwell

red T. Lowrance elvin L. Watt Carole Ricks Landra Yarba Dr. Herman Tho

Marilyn Olowoloyeku Alan Kronovet
Dr. Jewett L. Walker
Rebecca Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Reid
Mrs. Cleoia F. McAdams
William "Butch" Simmons

Fred Stewart
Dr. Wanda M. Webb
Cary Bernstein
Ida W. Peeler
Dr. Melvin Pinn
Louise Sellers
Eleañor Washington
Wayne and Vi Alexander
Dr. James R. Law Dr. James R. Law Abdul and Brenda Bilal Dr. Spurgeon and Jean Webber Jean Hagoon Jean Haggord
Dr. Robert & Linda Albright
Dr. Wesley and Guy Clement
Jane V. Harper
Dr. Tolly and Eva Kennon
John G. Hayes
Mr. and Mrs. Zoel Hargrave

Kerry Ann Rushin
Jim Patterson
Camilla Weaver
Mack and Geraldine Hunter
Robert and Janice Chavis
James F. Foxx
Bobby and Jacqueline Best
Anita Clemmer Calvin and Anna Ho Dr. Gwyn Davis

Ken Koontz
Dan McCorkle
Dr. Paula Newsome
Dr. Ida M. Richmond
Dr. Roy Smith
David Belton Steve Porter Lecil Henderson Robert Cunningham Frank E. Emory Mary F. Howard Pamela Hunter Dr. Raleigh Bynum
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Farrar
Mike Pearson
Lawrence J. Tollver
Hassell Mack Hairston
Curtis Ricketts Lydia Desmond Kathy Gordon Rosella Jones Dr. Jerry Jones Willa Cline Betsy Simmons
Linda C. Ashendorf
Angil M. Corrothers
J. Wesley Corrothers
Delores S. Foster
Elaine S, Watson
Mrs. Alfred Louise Alexander
Marvin C. and Bertha L. Pettilord
Elliot. R. Lynch Elliot R. Lynch Cleveland and Juanita Ardrey Gail M. Phillips Darnell L. Ivory Pat Doster Bernie Mazyck W. Pete Cunningham





Arthur Griffin

Lorraine Truesdale
Jackie and Nikki Bennett
George E. Shinhoster
Rhonda M. Smith
Shirley Armstrong
Shirley Williams
Frances Shelton
Joan Kennedy Ross
Consuella Chavis
A. Leon Miller
Getchel L. Caldwell
Willie J. DeShields
Cathy C. Hughes
Rev. W. J. Sturgess

Mrs. Betty Sturgess Rsident Advisory Council Sarah Wilson Pearl Robinson Daisy Alexander Julia Turner
Dalebrook Beauty Center
G.M. Productions
Ward Simmons Joan Jackson Darryl E. More Denise Murray Sandra Gripper Steven A. Hockfield

Paid For By The Committee To Elect Arthur Griffin School Board