



### Candidates

# The third Round

All of the candidates have filed and the elections this Wednesday and Thursday will decide which of the candidates will take over vacancies on the legislature, Student Union Board, Student Media Board, and Student

Superior Court.

With Tom Duley's withdrawal from the vice-presidential race, Jack Dunne is uncontested for the post. Duley made his decision Friday in a meeting of the Elections Committee, and will instead be seeking his old Student Superior Court position.
Chuck Gross has likewise

withdrawn his cadidacy for the position of WVFN chairman, leaving Jim Yates with no opponent.

Thus, the candidates are: Vice President: Jack Dunne

College of Architecture (1): Paul Bender, Dennis Hall
College of Business Administration (3): Bob Anderson, William Kincaid
College of Engineering (2): Ty Morse

College of Humanities (4): Nancy College of Humanities (4): Nancy Bickett, Basil Coston, Kenneth C. Foster, Annie Howell, Jane Sigmon, Marvin Sparrow, Marty Venable, Pamela Wilson

College of Nursing (1): Joan Austin

College of Science and Mathematics (2): Lyndle Schenck, **Denise Somers** 

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences (4): Mark Ashley, David Brown, Ralph Deglitis, Robert Hardy,Jr., Jeff Mitchell, Eugene

Undeclared Majors (1): No

Sophomore Class President: Charles Marus, Debbie Maynard, Lee Viveretet

Junior Class President: Stephine

Cadwallader, Phil Nesbitt
Senior Class President: Randall
Crotts, Tom Martin

by charlotte porter Commuter Representatives (3): Anne Braswell, Susan Buell, Michael Thompson

Superior Court (5): Thomas Duley, Julia Dewiggins, Sam Erby, Brenda Glenn, Phillip McLain, William Myers, Charles Sheek, Steven Sox, Rick Wilson.

Union Board Film Committee: Bill Holder, Steve Wilcox Union Board Fine Arts Committee: Dave Harper Union Board Lectures Committee: Jim Remey Union Board Social Committee: Ester Bruce, Randy Canedy, Pat

Union Board Special Activities: Toby Carr Rathskellar Committee: Jan Cadwallader

Media Board At Large: No nominees

Journal Editor: Mike Aldridge, Charlotte Porter Journal Business Manager: Max

Sanskrit Editor: Jeffery Beam Sanskrit Business Manager: Joe McCorkle

Rogues 'N Rascals Editor: Tom Alspo, Richard Gantt

WVFN Manager: Jim Yates WVFN Assistant Manager: Bill Farrington MVFN Program Director: Buddy McManus, Charlene Mannix WVFN News Director: John Lindsay, Pat Gradiner WVFN Business Manager: Frank WVFN Chief Engineer: Joe

Blanchard

#### Elections: page two/the journal/april 11, 1973 Maybe a last time

## emergency media board

In an emergency meeting Tuesday, the media voted to put Susanne Dean in the running, for, the post of Journal editor.

Dean decided last week to seek the post, but was turned down by the elections board last Friday when she asked them to put her name on the ballot. The Board ruled that she must take her case to the Media Board.

A Media Board meeting was called for Monday, April 9, but when only two people showed up at the meeting an emergency session was called for Tuesday.

Steve Sox was elected Acting Chairman, and spoke against the move by Ms. Dean. Sox said that he felt she should not be able to come in at this late a date and announce her intentions of

running.
David Freeman, proxying, said that Ms. Dean probably had a case if she wanted to pursue the matter to the Student Superior Court and that is this were the case the elections could drag on possibly through the fall.

The vote was four to zero, with two abstentions.

### SENATE

petitions for seats in the University Senate has been passed. No peitions were received.

The next step in the process of constitutingthe 1973-74 Senate is the election of one representative

for each major academic unit. (See Section 2 of the UNCC Constitution.) The results of these elections are to be reported to the Chancellor's Office no later than April 20.







