Monday, November 22, 1976-MIRROR-HERALD-Page 5A

### **KM Youth Gridders Prepare For Moss Classic**

midgets lost the Gaston return and Carl Smith League football championship last week at Dallas, bowing to undefeated and nationally-

1

of

nd he

en. wo 411 ed-

ce

ın-

six

he 8

es

. bs ns er

er, ors

.... m, on im n

nk hip na-XC,

A)

13

1

anta po

Little Mountaineers gave the hosts all they could handle in the first half, too strong in the final two Boo Rob son scored on

Kings Mountain's junior a 68-yard pass interception passed 60 yards to Tony Rainey for the two KM touchdowns. "We're real proud of our

2. coach Danny Bagwell. "We gave a good team Coach Jim Littlejohn's effort in the first half but just couldn't stay with them in the second half." Kings Mountain won the trailing by just 18-12 at regular season Division intermission. But the One title and Mason, which Dallas-based team proved in previous years played under the name of the YEMC Little Orangemen, copped the Division Two

The Little Mountaineers were in Clewiston, Fla.,

ranked Mason Athletics 38- boys," noted assistant Saturday night's game

this weekend participating in the annual Florida Classic, but the details of were not available at the Mirror-Herald's early

paper.

The Little Mountaineers and the Kings Mountain

press deadline. Details will Mountaineers' opponent is be carried in Wednesday's still uncertain. The Blue Devils will play Long Island, N. Y.

The tentative schedule midgets will play in the for Saturday's classic in-annual John Moss Classic cludes an 11 a.m. junior chudes an 11 a.m. junior Saturday at John Gamble midget game between Stadium. The Little Shelby and Charlotte, a 1 p.

m. junior midget game in-volving the Little Mounqueen, will crown the new taineers, and the 8 p. m. midget contest between KM and New York.

halftime of the final game. Sonya Smith, last year's

queen. Contestants are voted on through a penny vote. Proceeds from the vote will help pay the The homecoming queen cheerleaders' way to the will be crowned during Little Gator Bowl in Florida on Dec. 4, when the Blue Devils meet Naples.

Also, the midgets are raffling off a 1966 Baracuda and are currently selling tickets to help pay their expenses to Florida. The car will be given away on December 24 at City Hall.

EASY STORE SIDE PARKING AT AKERS SHOPPING CENTER

## THANKSGIVING WEEK SALE

Monday Through Saturday Only ★ ★ ★ \*

# SUITS Special Group \$4999

Save \$5000 TO \$6000

### -SELECT GROUP WINTER SUITS REDUCED-

ere	\$120.00		Now	••••	\$95.99
ere	\$140.00		Now	••••	<sup>\$</sup> 111.99
ere	\$150.00		Now		<sup>\$</sup> 119.99
ere	\$160.00		Now		\$127.99
ere	\$170.00	•••••	Now	••••	<sup>\$</sup> 135.99
ere	\$180.00		Now	••••	\$143.99
ere	\$200.00	·	Now	····· ,	<sup>\$</sup> 159.99
	ere ere ere ere ere ere	ere \$140.00 ere \$150.00 ere \$160.00 ere \$160.00 ere \$170.00 ere \$180.00	ere \$140.00 ere \$150.00 ere \$160.00 ere \$170.00 ere \$180.00	ere \$140.00 Now ere \$150.00 Now ere \$160.00 Now ere \$170.00 Now ere \$180.00 Now	ere \$120.00 Now ere \$140.00 Now ere \$150.00 Now ere \$160.00 Now ere \$170.00 Now ere \$180.00 Now ere \$200.00 Now

## SPORT COATS

LEAPING CATCH - Kings Me Harrington leaps high to pull in pass from quarterback Alan Van Dyke in last Saturday's Mountaineer Bowl action between the Blue Devils and Cramerton st John, Gamble Stadium. KM won, 30-0.

### **All-Time Mountaineer Grid Trophy Winners**

quet will join a star-studded list of athletes who in the past have helped establish KMHS as one of the top football powers in

don

Dec. 14, at the Kings Mike Huffstickler; 1964, Mountain Motor Inn, Richard Gold; 1965, Danny

MOST VALUABLE the Southwestern Con-1959, Don Fisher,; 1960, Punch Parker; 1961, Sammy Houston; 1962, Charles Goodson; 1968, The fete is set for Tues.,

The trophy winners at Brown; 1969, Jerry Lovethis year's Kings Mountain lace; 1970, Dale Russell; Lions Club football ban- 1971, Jake Bridges; 1972, Jake Bridges; 1978, David Bell; 1974, Nathaniel Smith; 1975, David Gor-

ginning at 7 p.m. Jim Heavner, a KMHS

ference.

\*

.

:::

ne nđ -

m-

re

...

ey

8

e,

1-7

tt

he

al

to

1.8

..

1

1 44 Br

,.

graduate and now president and general manager of Radio Station WCHL, Chapel Hill, will be guest speaker for the evening.

The Lions Club began honoring the Mountaineers in 1989 and began awarding trophies to deserving players in 1958, when Ronnie Layton won the Fred Plonk Blocking Trophy. That was the only award given until 1959, when Dr. George Plonk added the most valuable player award.

Several other trophies have been added through the years and this year deserving Mountaineers will be presented six major wards. Those include the blocking trophy, MVP award, the John Gamble Scholastic Award, the Most Improved Player Trophy, the Mountaineer Award and the Mirror-Herald Player of the Year Award.

Listed below are all the past trophy winners. BLOCKING

1958 - Ronnie Layton; 1954, Charles Yelton; 1955, Joe Meek Ormand; 1956, David Marlowe; 1957, Bill Herndon, 1958, David Plonk; 1959, Gary Blanton and Mike Ware; 1960, Charles Burns; 1961, Curtis Floyd; 1962, James Hope; 1963, Bo Goforth; 1964, Lyn Cheshire; 1965, Chip Bridges; 1966, Kenny Plonk; 1967, Charles Greene; 1968, Stanley

and Tommy Finger; 1967, Bert Smith; 1968, Wayne Mullinax: 1969. Philbert Smith; 1970, Geeper Howard; 1971, Marshall Logan; 1972, Mark George; 1978, Dennis 1974, Hogue; Chris Johnson and Johnny Byers; 1975, Chris Johnson.

### SCHOLASTIC

1962, Lyn Cheshire; 1968, Ben Grimes; 1964, George Plonk; 1965, Larry Pat-rick; 1966, Chuck Gladden; 1967, Rick Finger; 1968, Geeper Howard; 1969, Chuck Hoyle, 1970, Geeper Howard; 1971, Steve Plonk; 1972, Larry Hamrick; 1978, John Plonk: 1974, Mike Bumgarner and John Yarboro; 1975, Kelly Land. MOST IMPROVED

1963, Terry Leonard; 1964, Pat Hord, 1965, Phillip Bunch; 1966, Eddie Bridges; 1967, Ross Springer; 1968, Clarence Ash; 1969, Charles Barnes; 1970, Johnny Hogue; 1971, Mark George; 1972, Jerry Valentine; 1978, Roy Putnam; 1974, Ronnie Morrison and Larry Biddix; 1975, Steve Southwell.

### LEADERSHIP

1968, Jimmy Ledlin; 1964, Pat Murphy.

MOUNTAINEER 1971, John Grier; 1972, Harlee Davis; 1978, Not given; 1974, Carl Roseboro; 1975, Bruce Valentine and Nathaniel Smith.

PLAYER **OF YEAR** 1974, Dale Hartsoe; 1975, Mike Bumgarner.



Warren Gardner Charge BankAmericard American Express Master Charge

SAVE \$15.00 TO \$2000

-SELECT GROUP WINTER COATS REDUCED-

Were	\$75.00	 Now		<sup>\$</sup> 59.99	
Were	\$85.00	 Now	••••	\$67.99	
Were	\$90.00	 Now		\$71.99	
Were	\$95.00	 Now		\$75.99	

LADIES SPORTSWEAR **REDUCED 20% TO 30%** -SELECTED GROUPS LADIES WEAR-Shirts - Slax - Skirts - Dresses Pant Suits - Jackets - Coats

