Duckpin Bowling

Results from Mountain

Thursday, Jan. 28 KM Warriors 6 Geezers 2 Warriors - Tommy Barrett 113 game, 326 set; Zeke Rybczyk 113 game, 307 set; Bonnie Warren 112 game, 300 set. Geezers - Alan Rybczyk 109 game, 313 set.

Old Timers 8
Double Deuces
Old Timers - Greg Evans
144 game, 381 set;
Deuces - Ed Philbeck
126 game, 319 set; Allen
Myers 116 game, 315
set.

Standings -KM Warriors 25-15 Old Timers 20-20 Double Deuces 18-22 Geezers 17-23.

Tuesday, Jan. 26
Alley Cats 6
Half Timers 2
Cats - Ed Philbeck 120
game, 332 set; Allen
Myers 110 game, 322
set.
Half Timers - Colleen

Philbeck 100 game, 266 set; John Schroter 266 set.

Zeke's Zingers 7 Lucky Ducks 1 Zingers - Greg Evans 135 game, 369 set. Ducks - Mike Murphy 118 game, 333 set.

Standings -Zeke's Zingers 27-5 Alley Cats 22-10 Half Timers 10-22 Lucky Ducks 5-27.

Tuesday, Feb. 2

Half Timers 6 Zeke's Zingers 2 Half Timers - John Schroter 125 game, 347 set; Zingers - Greg Evans 164 game, 397 set.

Alley Cats 4 Lucky Ducks 4 Cats - Ed Philbeck 128 game, 380 set; Allen Myers 129 game, 337 set;

Ducks - Mike Murphy 172 game, 429 set.

Standings Zeke's Zingers 29-11
Alley Cats 26-14
Half Timers 16-24
Lucky Ducks 9-31

Thursday, Feb. 4

Double Deuces 6
Geezers 2
Deuces - Allen Myers
153 game, 384 set; Ed
Philbeck, 120 game, 330
set.
Geezers - Bob
Paramore 130 game

Geezers - Bob Paramore 130 game, 369 set; Alan Rybczyk 120 game, 321 set.

KM Warriors 8 Old Timers 0 Warriors - Tommy Barrett 123 game, 358 set. Old Timers - Greg Evans 118 game, 322 set.

Standings -KM Warriors 33-15 Double Deuces 24-24 Old Timers 20-28 Geezers 19-29



CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The Kings Mountain High wrestling team finished second in the Big South 3A Conference Tournament Saturday at Forestview High School in Gastonia.

KMHS second in Big South wrestling

By GARY STEWART Sports Editor

Kings Mountain finished second in the Big South 3A Conference wrestling tournament Saturday at Forestview High School in Gastonia.

Crest won the title with 188 points. KM scored 142, followed by North Gaston 127, Ashbrook 125, Hunter Huss 80, South Point 78 and Forestview 55.

Three Mountaineers took first place in their weight class.

Josh Haraszkiewicz won the 160pound class with a 4-3 decision over Cody Hendren of Hunter Huss.

Dustin Stone won the 171-pound class with a 7-2 decision over Tylon Early of Crest.

Jaris Williams pinned Anthony Winn of Hunter Huss to win the 285-pound title.

Markel Hemphill finished second in the 152 pound class and Ariam Lopez was second at 215 pounds. All wrestlers finishing first or second were named to the All-Conference team.

Finishing third for the Mountaineers were Gary Bennett and John Robbs. Finishing fourth were Colby Bailey, Paul Farris, Quincey Toms and Jonathan Clark.

"Our guys wrestled a great tournament," said KM Coach Kenny Bridges, "finishing ahead of some teams that beat them during the regular season."

Wrestlers that qualified during the regular season will compete in the Western Regional February 20 at St. Stephens High School in Hickory.

Fox's Daytona 500 Heritage

The First Daytona 500

On February 22, 1959, Daytona International Speedway hosted the first Daytona 500. The posted awards for the "500-Mile International Sweepstakes" totaled \$67,760. A field of 59 cars took the green flag for the start of the 200-lap race. A crowd of 41,000 was on hand to witness the beginning of another chapter in the history of racing in Daytona.

The finish of the race also went into the history books. The finish was too close to call, but Johnny Beauchamp went to Victory Lane and savored the celebration although the results were posted as "unofficial."

Sixty-one hours later, Lee Petty was the winner in what appeared to be a dead heat between Petty and Beauchamp, with the lapped car of Joe Weatherly making it a three-wide finish at the checkered flag. A clip of newsreel footage proved that Petty was the winner by a few feet.

50 Years and Still Growing

The Daytona 500 is NASCAR's biggest, richest and most prestigious race.

"The Great American Race," which traditionally hosts a sell-out crowd, has the biggest total payout in prize money for any motorsport event in the United States, surpassing the Indianapolis 500 and the Brickyard 400. The 2007 Daytona 500 posted awards exceed more than \$18 million with race winner Kevin Harvick pocketing more than \$1.5 million.

Daytona International Speedway

Daytona Beach, Florida

The Daytona 500 is one of the most well-known sporting events in the world. It has been held at the Daytona International Speedway since the track first opened in 1959. The speedway replaced the old beach and road courses of the 1940s and 1950s on which professional stock car racing first got started. More racing events are held at Daytona than any other track in the United States.

A recently-added tourist facility called Daytona USA offers visitors a chance to learn about NASCAR and "The World's Greatest Race."

Race time: 1:00 p.m. Sunday, February 14, 2010 Watch it locally on Fox

Daytona 500 Records

Most Victories: 7. Richard Petty (1964, 66, 71, 73, 74, 79, 81) Most Consecutive Victories: 2. Richard Petty (1973-74) Most Career Starts: 33. Dave Marcis

Most Consecutive Starts: 32. Dave Marcis
Most Pole Positions: 4. Cale Yarborough (1968, 70, 78, 84)

Buddy Baker (1967, 73, 79, 80)

Most Wins from the Pole: 2. Cale Yarborough (1968, 84) Bill Elliott (1985, 87)

Most Consecutive Pole Positions: 3. Fireball Roberts (1961-63); Bill Elliott (1985-87); Ken Schrader (1988-90) Longest Span between First and Last Victory 17. Richard Petty

(1964-81)
Most Starts Before Winning: 20. Dale Earnhardt
Most Races Led: 20. Richard Petty
Most Times Completing All 500 Miles: 14. Dale Earnhardt
Most Miles Completed: 12,150. Richard Petty
Most Laps Led, Career: 780. Richard Petty
Most Times Led, Race: 21. Bobby Allison (1981)
Most Laps Led, Race: 184. Richard Petty (1964)
Most Wins by a Manufacturer: 20. Chevrolet

Widest Winning Margin: 2 Laps. Richard Petty (1973)

Closest Winning Margin: 2 feet. Lee Petty (1959)
Fastest Winning Speed: 177.602 MPH. Buddy Baker (1980)
Slowest Winning Speed: 124.740 MPH. Junior Johnson (1960)
Youngest Winner: 25 years, 6 months, 12 days. Jeff Gordon (1997)
Oldest Winner: 50 years, 2 months, 11 days. Bobby Allison (1988)
Driver Leading Fewest Laps and Winning: 4. Benny Parsons (1975)
Driver Leading Most Laps and Winning: 184. Richard Petty (1964)

