North Carolina Newspapers

    Page 6A
The Kings Mountain Herald |
Wednesday, July 24, 2013
Total of 63 throw their hats into political ring
Candidate filing for the fall elections
in Cleveland County ended Friday at
noon with a total of 63 candidates
throwing their hats into the political
ring for offices open in 14 munieipali-
ties and on the board of education and
water board. :
The complete list provided by the
Cleveland County Board of Elections:
Town of Boiling Springs: Max
Hamrick, mayor, William K. Elliott,
James L. Beason Jr., Marty Thomas and
Clifton W. Philbeck for commissioner.
Town of Casar: Scott White and
Tommy McNeilly for commissioner
and Eddie Walker and Donald Ivester
for mayor.
Town of Earl: Patti Ellis Norman,
Ann Thackerson, Betsy Lavender,
per for mayor.
Town of Fallston: Gary Boggs for
mayor and Doris Weaver, Doug Clay
and Bill Herndon for council.
Town of Grover: Jackie Bennett,
Rodney Ross, commissioner.
City of Kings Mountain; Mike But-
ler, Patty: Hall, Ward II; Tommy
Hawkins and Jerry Mullinax, Ward 3,
and Dean Spears and Curtis Pressley,
At Large.
Town of Kingstown: Sharon Martin
and David Lattimore for mayor and Ho-
race Jefferies, James E. Wilson Clarissa
Jennings-Reid and Tammy Regina
Briscoe Spikes, James E. Wilson and
Horace Jefferies for commissioner.
Lattimore: Carolyn Wince, alder-
man, Alton G. Beal, mayor.
Lawndale: John FE. Sain for commis-
Patterson Springs: Randy Biggers
Carothers and Lee Van Canipe for com-
Town of Polkville: Harold Terry and
Brenda Bridges for commissioner.
City of Shelby: Neil Blanton and
Dennis Bailey, Ward 4; Kevin Allen,
William Allen Gray, Ben Kittrell and
Fred Harrill Jr., Ward 5. Town of Waco:
Judy Thompson and Horace Lutz, al-
Cleveland County Water Board:
Don Melton, John Taylor, Amy
Bridges, Winston Reid McKee for com-
Cleveland County board of Educa-
tion: Kathy B. Falls, Phillip B. Glover,
George Litton, S. Dale Oliver, Darius
Griffin, Donnie Thurman Jr., Jeff Gre-
Brenda Ivester Meltonand Laladge gory, Kenneth A. Ledford and Danny 4oNORED FOR SERVICE - Debra Blanton, Director of Elec-
Moss for commissioner and Max Hop- sioner. Blanton. tions, presents outgoing Board of Elections chairman Steve
Wells with a plague, as the board honors the Kings Mountain
man for eight years of service as chairman (March 2005-July
2013.) The hoard met last week to swear in new members.
NEW ELECTIONS BOARD — Wayne King (left) chairman, Doug
Sharpe, member, and Kathy Levsie, secretary, were sworn
in by Clerk of Court Mitzi Johnson as the new elections hoard
in Cleveland County. Levsie, a Republican, returns to the
board as secretary. King, the new chairman, is a Republican,
won third place in the cook-off. From left, Kenny Cordle, auxiliary president and cook for the Post 9811 Best Burger; James Sharpe, new member, is a Democrat. Republicans, with two
Blanton, senior vice-commander, also cook for Post 9811 Best Burger; Mike Yarbro, Commander, Jim Homesley, quarter- members, represent the majority party on the board. All the
master, and Chuck Sperry, house chairman. Cash prizes were first place, $300; second place $200; and third place $100. members are from the Kings Mountain area.
on Air
704-730-0050 Ld
Monday-Friday 8-8; Saturday 8-6
p 2027 Shelby Hwy
Kings Mountain
Want an online
Call Kathy at
or email
Check us out online!

Page Text

This is the computer-generated OCR text representation of this newspaper page. It may be empty, if no text could be automatically recognized. This data is also available in Plain Text and XML formats.

Return to page view